Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is A Fiscal Year?

Views 3812022.08.22
https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022082200001588c295cd78890.png

Core points

●A fiscal year is usually a cycle of 12 consecutive months

●The cycle of a fiscal year can be the same or different from that of a natural year.

●Factors such as the seasonal characteristics of the business will affect the cycle of setting up Fiscal Year in enterprises.

The fiscal year, also known as the fiscal year, refers to a 12-month accounting period artificially set by enterprises for the purpose of financial and tax reports.

Concept understanding

People who follow corporate financial reports often hear a company's Q2 report for fiscal year 2021, annual report for fiscal year 2022, and so on.

So, does Q2 in fiscal year 2021 necessarily refer to the company's operating data from April 1 to June 30, 2021? Does the annual report for fiscal year 2022 necessarily refer to the company's operating data from January 1 to December 31, 2022?

To understand this problem, we need to understand the similarities and differences between the concepts of natural year, accounting year, tax year and so on.

The above-mentioned concept of year refers to a "12-month" cycle, but the starting time is different.

The natural year, also known as the calendar year, refers to the Gregorian calendar year, each cycle is from January 1 to December 31, and according to the division of every three months as a quarter, from Q1 (January 1 to March 31), the whole year is divided into four Q1-Q4 quarters.

The definition scope of the fiscal year and the fiscal year is basically the same, both refer to a continuous 12-month cycle, set up in order to better statistical reporting of business activities.

The fiscal year can be set as the same as the calendar year from January 1 to December 31 of each year, or with the approval of the regulatory authority, any 12 consecutive months can be set as a cycle, and the name of the year shall prevail in the year in which the fiscal year ends.

For example, Microsoft Corp set it as Fiscal Year from July 1 to June 30 of the following year, and his Q1 report for fiscal year 2021 refers to the operation from July 1 to September 30, 2020.

The tax year is similar to the fiscal year, and the company may, with the approval of the tax regulatory department, choose to follow the fiscal year or the natural year as the tax year cycle.

How to set a fiscal year

For statistical convenience, many companies generally set the fiscal year to be consistent with the calendar year, but if faced with the following situations, some companies will adjust the start date of the fiscal year in order to better reflect the business situation.

First, the business has seasonal characteristics. For example, some companies have a peak sales payback season in April, so if they set the end of the fiscal year in May, they are expected to reflect the earnings data in time for the preparation of the latest results, making the results look better. In addition, some retail companies will be busiest during the Christmas holidays at the end of the year, so they will deliberately bypass the end of the fiscal year to avoid manpower shortages and statistical pressure.

Second, financial cost consideration. Some small and medium-sized companies follow the natural year to set the fiscal year, and hire external accounting firms to help them file tax returns, which makes many accountants busy at the end of the year, raising fees. Therefore, some companies that pay attention to cost control set the fiscal year to other cycles, which can avoid the busy period of accountants and reduce expenses.

The third is the requirements specified by the regulatory body. Some companies are in an industry with special characteristics, or their products or services have special requirements, so there are regulatory dates for tax returns and other links, and at such times, the fiscal years of these companies will also be set according to specific dates.

Summary

In a word, the fiscal year is not only an important cycle for an enterprise to reflect its operation, but also an important window for investors to observe the operation of the company.

After understanding its specific settings, we can avoid asking funny questions such as "Why BABA released the Q2 report for fiscal year 2022 in 2021".

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是会计年度?

440人 学过2022.08.22
https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022082200001586b895cfd36ed.png

核心要点

● 会计年度一般是一个连续12个月的周期

● 会计年度的周期可以和自然年度相同,也可以不同

● 业务季节性特点等因素会影响企业设置Fiscal Year的周期

会计年度也称为财政年度,是指企业用于财务和税务报告为目的,人工设置的一个12个月会计期。

概念理解

关注企业财报的人经常会听到某公司2021财年Q2报告、2022财年年报等等。

那么,2021财年Q2一定是指公司2021年4月1日-6月30日的经营数据吗?2022财年年报一定是指公司2022年1月1日-12月31日的经营数据吗?

要弄清楚这个问题,我们需要先了解,自然年、会计年、税务年等概念的异同。

上述年的概念,都是指的一个“12个月”周期,但起始时间不同。

自然年也称日历年, 是指公历年度,每个周期为1月1日-12月31日,另外根据每三个月为一个季度的划分,从Q1(1月1日-3月31日)开始,全年分为Q1-Q4四个季度。

会计年和财政年的定义范围基本相同,都是指的一个连续12个月周期,设置目的是为了更好的统计报告经营活动。

会计年可以和日历年一样设置为每年的1月1日-12月31日,也可以经监管机构批准,设置任意一个连续12个月为周期,年份名称以财年结束所处年份为准。

例如,微软将每年7月1日-次年6月30日设置为Fiscal Year,其2021财年Q1报告是指2020年7月1日-9月30日的经营情况。

税务年度与会计年度类似,公司可以经税务监管部门批准,选择是按照会计年度或自然年度作为税务年度周期。

如何设置会计年度

很多公司为了统计便利,一般都将会计年度设置为与日历年度一致,但如果面临以下几种情况,有些公司就会调整会计年度的起始日期,以便更好的反应经营情况。

一是业务具有季节性特点。例如,有些公司在4月份的时候是销售回款旺季,那么他们将会计年度结束时间设置在5月份,就有望在最新财报编制时及时反映盈利数据,让财报数据显得更好。另外,有些零售公司在年末圣诞假期会是业务最繁忙的时候,所以他们会将会计年度结束时间刻意绕开年末阶段,避免人手短缺和数据统计压力。

二是财务成本考虑。一些中小型公司遵循自然年度来设置会计年度,且聘请外部会计师事务所等帮助他们报税,这使得年底时很多会计师业务繁忙,抬高收费,因此一些注意成本控制的公司将会计年度设置为其他周期,可以避开会计师繁忙期,降低开销。

三是监管机构指定要求。有一些公司所处行业具备特殊性,或者其产品或服务有特殊要求,因此在报税等环节存在监管指定日期,这种时候,这些公司的会计年度也会根据具体日期而设定。

总结

总而言之,会计年度是一家企业反映经营情况的重要周期,也是投资者观察公司经营的一个重要窗口。

了解其具体设置后,我们就可以避免提出“为什么阿里巴巴在2021年发布2022财年Q2报告”这种好笑的问题了。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐

    回到顶部