Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is Inflation?

Views 9492022.06.07

Core points

  • Inflation refers to an economic phenomenon in which prices continue to rise generally.

  • Inflation rate = (current price level-base period price level) / base period price level * 100%.

  • According to the causes, inflation is generally divided into three types: demand-driven, cost-driven and structural.

    Detailed explanation of concept

    Theoretically, inflation is an economic phenomenon that the currency in circulation exceeds the actual demand and prices continue to rise under the condition of paper money circulation. its essence is the phenomenon that the total social demand is greater than the total social supply.

    From the perspective of economic performance, inflation refers to a comprehensive, sustained and substantial rise in the price level of general goods and services. Inflation has the following main characteristics:

    The first is the rise in the prices of general goods and services, rather than those of stocks, bonds and other financial assets.

    The second is the overall rise in the price level, that is, the overall rise in the price level of goods and services, rather than the price level of specific goods and services or in some areas.

    Third, the sustained rise in the price level, rather than an accidental, short-term price rise. The fourth is to see whether the money supply is too large.

    Measure inflation

    The cost of living for consumers depends on the price of many goods and services and their respective share of household budgets. In order to measure the average cost of living of consumers, the government has conducted some household surveys to determine the basket of goods that people usually buy and to track the cost of buying the basket over a period of time.

    In a given period, the ratio of the price of this basket to the price of the base year is the consumer price index (CPI), and the percentage change of CPI is consumer price inflation, which is the most widely used indicator of inflation.

    Inflation rate = (current price level-base price level) / base price level * 100%

    For example, if the CPI in the base year is 100 and the current CPI is 110, then the inflation rate during this period is 10 per cent.

    Classification of inflation

    With the acceleration of the process of economic globalization, the causes of inflation are also changing, but at present, according to the causes and performance of inflation, inflation is generally divided into three types: demand-driven, cost-driven and structural.

    • Demand-driven inflation

    This is an analysis of the causes of inflation from the perspective of aggregate demand, arguing that the cause of inflation lies in the excessive growth of aggregate demand and insufficient aggregate supply, that is, "too much money pursues fewer goods". Or because the demand for goods and services exceeds the supply available at current prices, the general price level rises. "

    • Cost-driven inflation

    This is to analyze the causes of inflation from the perspective of aggregate supply. Supply is production. According to the production function, production depends on cost. Therefore, from the perspective of aggregate supply, the cause of inflation lies in the increase in costs. The increase in cost means that the same level of production can be achieved only when it is higher than the previous price level, and the increase in price is cost-driven inflation.

    • Structural inflation

    Structural inflation means that when the total demand is not too much, there is too much demand for products in some sectors, resulting in a rise in the prices of some products, such as steel, pork, property market, edible oil and so on. If structural inflation is not effectively curbed, it will evolve into cost-driven inflation, resulting in overall inflation.

    Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.
    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是通货膨胀?

2239人 学过2022.06.07

核心要点

  • 通货膨胀是指物价持续而普遍上涨的经济现象。

  • 通货膨胀率=(现期物价水平—基期物价水平)/基期物价水平*100%。

  • 按照成因,通货膨胀一般分为需求拉动型、成本推动型和结构型三种类型。

    概念详解

    理论上来说,通货膨胀是在纸币流通的条件下,流通的货币超过实际需要量而引起的货币贬值、物价持续而普遍上涨的经济现象,其实质是社会总需求大于社会总供给的现象。

    从经济表现来看,通货膨胀是指一般商品和服务项目价格水平全面、持续、大幅度上涨的一种经济状态。通货膨胀具有以下主要特点:

    一是一般商品和服务项目价格的上涨,而不是指股票、债券和其他金融资产价格的上涨;

    二是价格水平全面的上涨,即商品和服务项目价格水平全面上涨,而非具体商品和服务项目价格或部分地区价格水平的上涨;

    三是价格水平的持续性上涨,而非偶然、短期的价格上涨。四是看货币供应量是否过大。

    衡量通货膨胀

    消费者的生活成本取决于很多货物和服务的价格,以及这些东西分别占家庭预算的比重。为了衡量消费者的平均生活成本,政府部门进行了某些家庭调查,以确定人们通常购买的一篮子商品,并追踪一段时期内这一篮子商品的购买成本。

    在某一给定时期,这一篮子商品价格相对于基年时价格的比值即为消费者价格指数(CPI),而CPI的百分比变化即为消费者价格通胀,后者是使用最广泛的通货膨胀指标。

    通货膨胀率=(现期物价水平—基期物价水平)/基期物价水平*100%

    例如,如果基年的CPI为100,目前的CPI为110,那么在这一时期内的通胀率为10%。

    通货膨胀的分类

    随着经济全球化进程的加快,发生通货膨胀的原因也在发生变化,但目前按引起通货膨胀的原因和表现来看,一般把通货膨胀分为需求拉动型、成本推动型和结构型三种类型。

    • 需求拉动型通货膨胀

    这是从总需求的角度来分析通货膨胀的原因,认为通货膨胀的原因在于总需求过度增长,总供给不足,即「太多的货币追逐较少的货物」,或者是「因为物品与劳务的需求超过按现行的价格可得到的供给,所以一般物价水平便上涨。」

    • 成本推动型通货膨胀

    这是从总供给的角度来分析通货膨胀的原因。供给就是生产,根据生产函数,生产取决于成本。因此,从总供给的角度看,引起通货膨胀的原因在于成本的增加。成本增加意味着只有在高于从前的价格水平时,才能达到与以前一样的产量水平,种价格上升就是成本推动的通货膨胀。

    • 结构型通货膨胀

    结构性通货膨胀是指物价上涨是在总需求并不过多的情况下,而对某些部门的产品需求过多,造成部分产品的价格上涨的现象,如钢铁、猪肉、楼市、食用油等,如果结构性通胀没有有效抑制就会演变成成本推动型通胀,造成全面通胀。

    风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。