Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is A Hostile Takeover?

Views 7562022.06.02

Key points

  • Hostile takeover refers to the acquisition activities carried out by the acquirer without notifying the board of directors of the target company or without their consent.

  • There are three common ways to realize hostile takeovers: open market buyout, tender offer and agency dispute.

  • Hostile takeover usually leads to the emergence of anti-takeover, in which two anti-hostile takeover methods are different rights of the same share and poison pill plan.

Detailed explanation of concept

Hostile takeover (hostile takeover), also known as hostile takeover, refers to the acquisition activities carried out by the acquirer without notifying the board of directors of the target company or without their consent. Among them, the strong antagonism between the two sides is its basic feature.

Unless the stock of the target company is highly liquid and can be easily absorbed in the market, hostile takeovers are generally difficult to succeed.

Generally speaking, some preparatory work will be done before making a hostile takeover, which is mainly to establish a starting point for initiating an acquisition in the market, that is, to buy shares in the target company in the market until the share of the target company meets the requirements of the first announcement.

The advantage of this is that the purchase behavior is unknown, and the purchase price is relatively low, which can reduce the acquisition cost. Another advantage is that the acquirer becomes a shareholder in the target company before entering into an openly hostile takeover.

There are three common ways to achieve a hostile takeover:

  • Open market buying

The acquirer buys the shares of the target company directly in the open market until its shareholding in the target company reaches the level of the controlling shareholder. The realization of hostile takeover through open market purchase requires that the target company has enough tradable shares in the market and the equity of the target company itself is relatively scattered as a prerequisite.

  • Tender offer

Tender offer means that in order to gain control of the listed company and acquire almost all the shares (at least 95% of the shares) of the acquired company, the purchaser issues a written expression of intention to purchase the shares held by the acquired company to the shareholders of the acquired company, and in accordance with the acquisition conditions, purchase price, acquisition period and other prescribed matters stipulated in the acquisition offer announced in accordance with the law. The mode of acquisition of shares in a target company.

  • The dispute of agency right

The agency dispute means that one or a group of shareholders obtain the control of the company through the principal-agent mechanism of the company's voting right. In China, this practice is also known as proxy takeover, in which acquirers gain their support by doing the work of other shareholders of the company (such as common equity and pension funds) and minority shareholders. obtain relative or absolute control over the voting rights of the company on the basis that these funds and minority shareholders delegate their voting rights to the acquirer, so as to strive for the acquisition to be approved.

Measures to deal with hostile takeover

Hostile takeover usually leads to anti-takeover. The purpose of anti-takeover is to resist the acquirer's acquisition behavior, maintain the original interest pattern of the target company, and hinder the realization of the acquirer's acquisition purpose. Here are two ways for companies to counter hostile takeovers:

  • Different rights of the same stock

Different rights in the same share means that at least two types of shares will be issued in a company-common shares and privileged shares. Privileged shares have more voting rights and are issued to the company's board of directors or management. Different rights of the same shares help companies to raise money through the secondary market, while the voting rights of the board of directors will not be too diluted, making it difficult for foreign acquirers to carry out hostile takeovers around the consent of the board of directors.

  • Poison pill program

Poison pill (Poison Pill) was invented by Martin Lipton (MartinLipton), a famous American M & A lawyer in 1982, and its official name is "equity dilution anti-takeover measure". It is an anti-takeover measure that increases the cost of M & An and reduces the attractiveness of the target company rapidly.

When a company encounters a hostile takeover, especially when the acquirer's stake has reached 10% to 20%, the company will issue a large number of new shares at a low price or increase its debt in order to maintain its controlling stake. In general, the poison pill program is a new stock issue, but it is not absolute. In fact, the poison pill program has a number of measures, including:

1. "eject" poison pills

The "pop-up" plan is a common measure to dilute the acquirer's share of equity and voting rights by issuing new preferred shares to established shareholders other than the acquirer, resulting in a significant increase in the cost of the acquirer. For example, preferred stock purchased at 100 yuan can be converted into 200 yuan stock in the target company. The impact of the pop-up plan is to increase the lowest price shareholders are willing to accept in mergers and acquisitions. If the share price of the target company is 50 yuan, then shareholders will not accept a takeover offer of less than 150 yuan.

2. "bounce into" poison pills

The "pop-in" plan, in contrast to the "pop-up" plan, is that the target company buys back its issued share options at a high premium, usually at a premium of up to 100%, that is, 100 yuan of preferred shares are repurchased at a price of 200 yuan. However, the hostile acquirer or the major shareholder who triggered the event is not included in the buyback, which dilutes the rights and interests of the acquirer in the target company.

3. "debt" poison pill

The target company greatly increases its debt and reduces the attractiveness of the acquisition. The debt poison pill program is mainly realized through the "poison clause" made by enterprises when issuing bonds or borrowing. In the event of a merger and acquisition, creditors have the right to demand early redemption of bonds, repayment of loans or conversion of bonds into stocks.

4. "Executive" poison pill

The executive poison pill plan means that the vast majority of senior managers of the enterprise jointly sign an agreement that all managers will resign collectively as long as one person is demoted or dismissed after the company is acquired at an unfair price. The stronger and more capable the management lineup of enterprises is, the more obvious the effect of implementing this strategy will be.

Poison pill plan is not only a powerful anti-takeover strategy for hostile takeover, but also a more "poisonous" anti-takeover strategy. Although it can prevent the acquisition to a large extent, it will also hurt the vitality of the target company, worsen the current business situation, destroy the development prospects of the enterprise, and damage the interests of shareholders, so it will often be opposed by shareholders and lead to legal disputes.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.
Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是敌意收购?

398人 学过2022.06.02

关键要点

  • 敌意收购是指收购方在未知会目标公司董事会,或未经他们同意的情况下,所进行的收购活动。

  • 实现敌意收购有三种常见的方式:公开市场买入、要约收购和代理权之争。

  • 敌意收购通常会导致反收购的出现,其中两种反敌意收购的方法为同股不同权和毒丸计划。

概念详解

敌意收购(hostile takeover),又称恶意收购,是指收购方在未知会目标公司董事会,或未经他们同意的情况下,所进行的收购活动。当中,双方强烈的对抗性是其基本特点。

除非目标公司的股票流通量高可以容易在市场上吸纳,否则敌意收购一般很难成功。

一般在进行敌意收购前会先做一些准备工作,这主要是在市场中建立一个发起收购的初始点,即先在市场中买入目标公司的股份,直到对目标公司的股权占比达到在首次公告的要求。 

这样做的好处是购买行为是不为人知的,购买的价格相对较低,可以降低收购成本。还有一个好处是收购方在进入公开的敌意收购前已成为目标公司的股东。

实现敌意收购有三种常见方式:

  • 公开市场买入

收购方通过在公开市场直接买入目标公司的股票,直到持有对目标公司的股权份额达到控股股东的水平。通过公开市场购买实现敌意收购需要目标公司在市场上有足够多的流通股且目标公司本身股权较为分散作为前提。

  • 要约收购

要约收购(Tender offer)是指收购人为了取得上市公司的控股权,并且取得被收购公司几乎全部的股份(至少95%以上股份) 向被收购公司的股东发出购买其所持该公司股份的书面意思表示,并按照其依法公告的收购要约中所规定的收购条件、收购价格、收购期限以及其他规定事项,收购目标公司股份的收购方式。

  • 代理权之争

代理权之争指一个或者一群股东通过公司投票权的委托代理机制取得公司控制权。 在中国,这种做法也叫做委托书收购,即收购者通过做公司其他持股人(譬如共同基全、养老基金)和小股东的工作,获得它们的支持,在这些基金和小股东将其投票权委托给收购方的基础上获得相对控制或绝对控制公司表决权,从而争取收购案获得投票通过。

应对敌意收购的措施

敌意收购通常会导致反收购的出现。反收购旨在对抗收购者的收购行为,维护目标公司原有利益格局,阻挠收购者收购目的实现。以下列举两种公司反敌意收购的方法:

  • 同股不同权

同股不同权,是指在一家公司内,会发行至少两类股份——普通股和特权股份。特权股份拥有更多的投票权,针对公司董事会或管理层发行。同股不同权有助于公司在通过二级市场融资的同时,董事会的投票权不至于被过多稀释,从而让外来收购方难以绕开董事会的同意而开展敌意收购行为。

  • 毒丸计划

毒丸计划(Poison Pill)是美国著名的并购律师马丁·利普顿(MartinLipton)1982年发明的,正式名称为「股权摊薄反收购措施」,是一种提高并购成本,同时造成目标企业吸引力急速降低的反收购措施。

当一个公司一旦遇到恶意收购,尤其是当收购方占有的股份已经达到10%到20%的时候,公司为了保住自己的控股权,就会大量低价增发新股,或者增加负债等等措施。一般情况下,「毒丸计划」是新增发行股票,但并不绝对。实际上「毒丸计划」有多种措施,包括:

1、「弹出」毒丸

「弹出」计划即常见的措施,通过向收购方之外的老股东发行新增优先股权,来摊薄收购者手中的股权份额,以及投票权益,使得收购者的成本大幅度增加。譬如,以100元购买的优先股可以转换成目标公司200元的股票。「弹出」计划的影响是提高股东在并购中愿意接受的最低价格。如果目标公司的股价为50元,那么股东就不会接受低于150元的收购要约。

2、「弹入」毒丸

「弹入」计划则与「弹出」计划相反,是目标公司以很高的溢价购回其发行的购股权,通常溢价高达100%,即100元的优先股以200元的价格被购回,但敌意并购者或者触发这一事件的大股东不在回购之列,这就稀释了并购者在目标公司的权益。

3、「负债」毒丸

目标公司大量增加自身负债,降低被收购的吸引力。负债毒丸计划主要通过企业在发行债券或借贷时订立的「毒药条款」 来实现。一旦企业遭到并购,债权人有权要求提前赎回债券、清偿借贷或将债券转换成股票。

4、「高管」毒丸

高管毒丸计划是指企业的绝大部分高级管理人员共同签署协议,在企业以不公平价格被并购后,只要有一人被降职或解聘,全部管理人员将集体辞职。企业的管理层阵容越强大、越精干,实施这一策略的效果就越明显。

毒丸计划对于敌意收购来说,是一项有力的反收购对策,同时也是一种比较「毒辣」的反收购策略。虽然它能在很大程度上阻止收购,但同时也会伤害目标公司的元气,恶化经营现状,毁坏企业发展前景,损害股东利益,因而常常会遭到股东们的反对,引起法律争讼。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。
回到顶部