Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is ADR?

Views 33562022.06.16

Before we explain ADR/ADS, let's take a look at the rules governing the listing of non-American companies on US stock exchanges.

According to the relevant policies of the US government, companies registered outside the United States are not allowed to be listed directly in the United States. So if foreign companies want to raise money in the US market, there are two ways:

  1. Direct listing: register a company in the United States, and then pack the main body of the listing into the United States company.

  2. Indirect listing: listing through ADR/ADS.

Compared with Cayman, Virgin Islands and other places, the US government has much stricter supervision over listed companies, with long listing time, high cost and high taxes, so a large number of companies choose indirect listing, that is, ADR/ADS listing through American depositary institutions.

What is ADR?

ADR, or American depositary receipts (American Depository Receipts), are depositary receipts issued by American depositary banks, sold to American investors and traded on the American securities market. Each ADR represents the corresponding shares of the listed company according to the corresponding exchange ratio.

For example, suppose the shares of ABC, a fictional Australian company, are traded on the Australian Stock Exchange at A $6.70 (US $5), and Bank of America Corporation buys a certain amount of ABC shares at 2:1 and sells ADR. Therefore, each ADR represents two shares of ABC and should therefore be sold at a price of $10.

ADR is kept in the vault of Bank of America Corporation, where they were issued, and ADR simplifies the process of exchanging foreign shares: by trading only receipts, investors do not have to worry about any exchange rate differences or need to open special brokerage accounts, and entitle investors to all dividends and capital gains.

What is ADS?

ADS, American Depositary shares (American Depository Shares), is the actual underlying stock represented by ADR.

It can be understood vividly that ADR is the proof of investors' ownership of ADS, just like the property certificate to the house. When trading, transfer the property certificate, there is no need to move the house here. However, usually a property certificate can only represent a house, but an ADR can represent a number of ADS.

For example, a British company, XYZ, can trade ADR on the New York Stock Exchange, and these ADR can be issued at five ADR equal to one American depositary share (5:1) or at any other rate the company chooses. The underlying ADS usually corresponds directly to the common stock of a foreign company, in other words, the ratio of ADS to common stock is usually 1, while the ratio of ADR to ADS is freely set by the company.

What is the difference between ADR/ADS?

1. The face value is different:

Most of the par value of ADS is only a fraction of the par value of collateralized stocks, while ADR mostly uses several units (such as 10 shares) as a unit of ADR.

2. Different initiating methods:

ADS is sponsored by stock issuers that want to attract US investors without having to list on the US market. ADR says interest in foreign stocks that U. S. citizens can buy is initiated by banks and brokerage firms.

3. The client is different:

ADS is issued in the United States by a trustee authorized by a foreign company (Trustee). ADR is a transferable certificate issued by American commercial banks to facilitate the trading of foreign securities in the United States.

Is there any difference between Tencent ADR (TCEHY) and BABA ADR (BABA)?

Let's go back to a knowledge point that we want to focus on today, why some Chinese stocks ADR look different.

There are mainly two kinds of companies, one is companies that have directly issued ADS for formal trading in the United States, such as BABA, Pinduoduo, Futu Holdings Limited, NIO Inc., and so on; the other is Tencent ADR (TCEHY), Meituan ADR (MPNGY), BYD ADR (BYDDY) and other companies, which are not officially listed on the US securities market and are only traded in OTC (over-the-counter market).

Generally speaking, because the first kind of ADR is officially listed for trading, its trading volume is not low, and the market activity is OK. Because the second kind of ADR belongs to OTC trading, the trading volume is generally small, so there will be liquidity problems.

The relationship between Tencent (00700.HK) and Tencent ADR (TCEHY)?

It should be said that both of them are Tencent's shares, but one is circulated in the Hong Kong stock market and the other in the United States. Tencent ADR is that Tencent Company took out a part of the stock and hosted it in the Hong Kong branch of a qualified US institution, and then the US headquarters of this institution took out the corresponding ADR to trade in the US market.

The prices of the two are consistent, one in US dollars and the other in Hong Kong dollars. Moreover, generally speaking, the price of Tencent's Hong Kong shares is the main, and the trend of Tencent's ADR will be affected by the trend of Hong Kong stocks before the trading time.

It is worth mentioning that now many companies often release important information after the closing of Hong Kong stocks, such as annual and quarterly reports, and the timeliness of the capital market chasing information is global. Therefore, judging from the situation in recent years, after Tencent released his financial report, during the US trading session that day, Tencent ADR often received heavy news, which led to obvious price fluctuations. And this fluctuation will in turn have an impact on the price of Tencent Hong Kong shares after the opening of Hong Kong stocks the next day.

The linkage of the above stock prices is not absolute, but it also requires the focus of investors. Once there is an obvious difference in market prices between the two places, the room for arbitrage cannot be ruled out.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是ADR?

1802人 学过2022.06.16

在解释ADR/ADS之前,我们先了解一下,非美国本土公司赴美证券交易所上市的发行规则。

根据美国政府相关政策,不允许在美国境外注册的公司直接在美国上市。因此,如果境外公司想在美国市场进行融资,有两条路径:

  1. 直接上市:在美国注册公司,然后将上市主体打包塞进美国公司旗下;

  2. 间接上市:通过ADR/ADS的方式上市。

相比于开曼、维京群岛等地,美国政府对于上市公司的监管要严格得多,上市时间久、成本高、税收重,因此大量的公司选择间接上市的方式,即通过美国本土存托机构发行ADR/ADS上市。

什么是ADR?

ADR,也就是美国存托凭证(American Depository Receipts),是由美国存托银行发行,面向美国投资者发售并在美国证券市场交易的存托凭证。每份ADR按照相应兑换比率代表相对应的上市公司股票。

例如,假设ABC公司(一家虚构的澳大利亚公司)的股票在澳洲证券交易所以6.7澳元(5美元)的价格进行交易,一家美国银行以2:1的比例买入一定数量的ABC公司股票并卖出ADR。因此,每份ADR代表ABC公司的两股股份,因此应以10美元的价格出售。

ADR存放在发行它们的美国银行的保险库中,ADR简化了交换外国股票的过程:由于只交易收据,投资者无需担心任何汇率差异或需要开设专门的经纪账户,而且使投资者有权获得所有股息和资本收益。

什么是ADS?

ADS,美国存托股份(American Depository Shares),是ADR所代表的实际基础股票。

可以形象地理解为,ADR是投资者对ADS所有权的证明文件,就像房产证之于房子。交易的时候,把房产证进行转移过户就行,没必要把房子搬过来。只不过,通常一本房产证只能代表一套房子,但一份ADR可以代表若干数量的ADS。

例如,一家英国公司XYZ公司可以在纽约证券交易所进行ADR交易,这些ADR可以按5份ADR等于1个美国存托股份 (5:1) 或公司选择的任何其他比率发行。标的ADS通常直接对应于外国公司的普通股,换句话说,ADS与普通股的比率通常为1,而ADR与ADS的比率可以由公司自由设定。

ADR/ADS的区别是什么?

1、面值方面不同:

ADS的面值大多只有作抵押股票面值的几分之一,而ADR大多以若干单位(比如10股)抵押股票充当一单位的ADR。

2、发起方式不同:

ADS是由希望吸引美国投资者而不必在美国市场上挂牌的股票发行公司赞助发起的。ADR表示美国公民可以购买的外国股票的权益,是由银行和经纪公司发起的。

3、委托人方面不同:

ADS是外国公司授权美国的受托人(Trustee)在美国发行的。ADR是美国商业银行为协助外国证券在美国交易而发行的一种可转让证书。

腾讯控股ADR(TCEHY)和阿里巴巴ADR(BABA)有区别吗?

回到我们今天要重点关注的一个知识点,为什么有些中概股ADR长得不太一样。

这里主要是两种,一种是在美国直接发行了ADS正式上市交易的公司,比如阿里巴巴、拼多多、富途控股、蔚来等等;另一种是腾讯控股ADR(TCEHY)、美团ADR(MPNGY)、比亚迪ADR(BYDDY)等这些,没有正式在美国证券市场上市、只在OTC(场外市场)交易的公司。

一般而言,第一种ADR因为是正式上市交易,其交易量都不算低,市场活跃度还可以。第二种ADR因为属于OTC交易,交易量一般不大,会存在流动性问题。

腾讯控股(00700.HK)和腾讯控股ADR(TCEHY)的关系?

应该说,二者都是腾讯的股票,只不过一个在港股市场流通,一个在美股流通。腾讯控股ADR是腾讯公司拿出一部门股票,托管在一家有资质的美国机构的香港分支部门,然后这个机构的美国总部拿出相对应的ADR在美国市场交易。

二者价格具有一致性,一个用美元计算,一个用港币计算。而且,一般而言,腾讯控股港股的价格是主,交易时间在前,腾讯控股ADR的走势会受港股的走势影响。

值得一提的是,现在很多公司往往在港股收盘后发布重要的信息,比如年报和季报,而资本市场追逐信息的时效性是全球性的,因此,从最近几年情况看,腾讯控股在发布财报后,当日的美国交易时段,其腾讯控股ADR往往会收到重磅消息影响导致价格明显波动,而这种波动进而会在次日港股开盘后对腾讯控股港股价格产生影响。

上述股价的联动不是绝对的,但也需要投资者重点关注。一旦存在两地市场价格出现明显差异,不排除出现套利的空间。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。
回到顶部