Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is After-hour Trading?

Views 5922022.08.03
https://courseimg.futunn.com/202208030000095383a4707ebec.png

Key points

● after-hours trading refers to trades that traders can make after the time of the traditional trading market.

The ● after-hours trading market is generally illiquid and has a large bid-ask spread.

● after-hours trading enables the company to disclose significant information after normal trading hours can be reflected in the stock price in time, reducing the trading risk of investors the next day.

Know about after-hours trading

Stock markets around the world trade at different times. For example, the New York Stock Exchange and Nasdaq are open between 9:30 and 4:00 et. During this window, people can quickly buy and sell stocks according to demand.

However, sometimes investors want them to be able to trade at the end of normal trading. In this case, people can choose to use after-hours trading.

When trading in after-hours trading, the process is similar to traditional trading. Buyers and sellers buy and sell specific stocks. However, due to the small number of people trading after hours, the liquidity of the stock is generally poor, and the bid-ask spread is large, which affects the price of the stock. Many traders find that after-hours trading will produce more price fluctuations, rising and falling more, so they need limit orders.

The time of after-hours trading

In addition to the normal trading hours from 9:30 to 4:00 et, investors can choose to trade during pre-and after-hours trading. Pre-market trading can take place between 4:00 and 9:30 EDT, while after-hours trading will be between 4:00 and 8:00 et.

How is after-hours trading carried out?

After-hours trading used to be limited to high net worth investors. With the popularity of the Internet, everyone can carry out pre-trading and after-hours trading. As mentioned earlier, people interested in after-hours trading should plan to use limit orders because the market is more volatile. The purpose of the price limit order is to complete the order only at the price specified on the order rather than the current price. In other words, traders will specify the number of shares they want to buy or sell, as well as the price they want for the order. Then, the order will be executed only if the stock meets this target price. This helps protect traders in the event of a sudden rise or fall in prices. If this sudden rise or fall occurs when a person is trading, they may find themselves buying at a price they do not intend to buy, which may lead to serious losses.

How does after-hours trading affect the market?

Investors should have some understanding of how after-hours trading affects the normal stock market. Trades completed in the pre-market and after-hours markets do not automatically determine the opening price of a stock, although they may affect the opening price. The opening price is determined by the first purchase of the day. Therefore, just because a stock rises or falls sharply in after-hours trading, its opening price is not necessarily as high or low as it is in non-standard trading hours. However, the first trade of the day is often influenced by traders before the opening of the market. Investors will need to consider the impact of these trading times on stock prices on a case-by-case basis.

On the other hand, many traders find that trading at the close of the stock market does provide valuable information about the future performance of specific stocks. For example, some companies may release important information, such as their quarterly earnings reports, before the market closes. These reports can provide valuable information on how current company stocks react to the news, thus helping traders better know how to invest in the company.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是盘后交易?

93人 学过2022.08.03
https://courseimg.futunn.com/20220803000009510f708db6f05.png

关键要点

● 盘后交易是指交易者可以在传统交易市场时间之后进行的交易

● 盘后交易市场一般流动性较差,买卖价差较大

● 盘后交易使公司在正常交易时间后披露的重大信息能够及时反映在股价上,减少投资者第二天的交易风险

了解盘后交易

全球各地股市交易时间并不相同。例如,纽约证券交易所和纳斯达克在美国东部时间上午9:30至下午4:00之间开放。在这个窗口期,人们可以根据需求快速购买和出售股票。

然而,有时投资者希望他们能在正常交易收市后的时间进行交易。在这种情况下,人们可以选择使用盘后交易方式。

在盘后交易进行交易时,其过程与传统交易类似。买方和卖方买卖特定的股票。然而,由于在盘后进行交易的人较少,股票的流动性一般较差,买卖价差较大,影响了股票的价格。  许多交易者发现,在盘后的交易会产生更多的价格波动,上涨和下跌的幅度更大,因此需要限价订单。

盘后交易的时间

在美国东部时间上午9:30至下午4:00的正常交易时间之外,投资者可以选择在盘前交易时间和盘后交易时间进行交易。盘前交易可在美国东部时间上午4:00至9:30之间进行,而盘后交易时段则从美国东部时间下午4:00至晚上8:00。

盘后交易是如何进行的?

盘后股票交易过去只限于高净值投资者。随着网络的普及,所有人都可以进行盘前交易和盘后交易。如前所述,有兴趣做盘后交易的人应该计划使用限价单,因为市场的波动性较大。限价单的目的是只按订单上指定的价格而不是当下的价格来完成订单。换句话说,交易者将指定他们想要买入或卖出的股票数量,以及他们想要这个订单的价格。然后,只有当股票符合这个目标价格时,订单才会被执行。这有助于在价格突然上涨或下跌的情况下保护交易者。如果这种突然的上涨或下跌发生在一个人正在进行交易的时候,他们可能会发现自己以一个他们不打算的价格购买,从而有可能导致严重的损失。

盘后交易如何影响市场? 

投资者应该对盘后交易如何影响正常时间的股票市场有一定了解。在盘前时段和盘后市场完成的交易并不自动决定某只股票的开盘价,尽管它们可能会影响开盘价。开盘价是由当天的第一次购买决定的。因此,仅仅因为一只股票在盘后交易时间出现了大幅上涨或下跌,它的开盘价不一定会像在非标准交易时间那样高或低。然而,当天的第一笔交易往往会受到交易者在开市前的影响。投资者将需要根据具体情况考虑这些交易时间对股票价格的影响。

另一方面,许多交易者发现,在股市收盘时进行的交易确实为特定股票的未来表现提供了有价值的信息。例如,一些公司可能在市场收盘前才发布重要信息,如其季度盈利报告。这些报告可以提供有价值的信息,以了解当前的公司股票对新闻的反应,从而可以帮助交易者更好地知道如何投资这个公司。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐

    回到顶部