Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is CPI, PPI, PMI?

Views 4432022.09.09
https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022090900001898e0bc82e5482.png

Core points

●Indices such as CPI, PPI and PMI can effectively observe economic activity.

●CPI and PPI are indices based on price changes, reflecting price changes on the consumer side and the production side.

●PMI is an index reflecting macroeconomic expansion or contraction, and 50 is the dividing line between boom and bust.

Concept understanding

Consumer Price Index (CPI), producer Price Index (PPI) and Purchasing managers Index (PMI) are three important indicators to measure the macro-economy.

CPI reflects the changes in the prices of products and services related to residents' lives, and is usually used to observe inflation and deflation. The range of products or services covered by the CPI index of different countries and regions is obviously different, and the weights of different sub-items are also different. The short-term rise and fall of CPI directly reflects the current economic environment. The greater the increase in CPI, the more obvious the inflation situation.

PPI reflects the price changes in the production process of industrial enterprises, and is used to measure the cost of raw materials and labor services purchased by enterprises for production. The proportion of sub-items of PPI varies in different countries and regions, but basically covers the price changes of raw materials, intermediate products and finished products in three stages.

There is obvious linkage relationship between PPI and CPI. Generally speaking, in the continuous upward period of PPI, production enterprises can more or less transfer part of the price changes to consumers, thus driving the rise of CPI.

PMI is an index that reflects whether the economy is expanding or shrinking through a survey of purchasing managers. It is generally divided into manufacturing PMI, service PMI, construction PMI and so on. PMI covers new orders, production, distribution, inventory, backlog orders, employees and other aspects, with 50 as the dividing line, PMI above 50 represents economic expansion, the higher the higher, the better the economic expansion, the lower 50 indicates economic contraction and decline, and the lower the index, the more depressed the economy.

How to observe CPI, PPI, PMI

CPI, PPI and PMI are all important economic data, which not only reflect the macroeconomic situation, but also are important reference factors for national policy-making.

In the United States, for example, CPI in the United States rose 1.3% month-on-month in June 2022, up 9.1% from a year earlier, much higher than market expectations and the biggest year-on-year increase since November 1981. CPI shows that the inflationary situation in the United States is extremely serious, and central banks around the world continue to raise interest rates to cope with the continuing inflationary impact at home.

PPI maintains a positive upward trend, which to some extent reflects economic activity. In the period of economic recovery in the post-epidemic era, the demand for production has increased, leading to the continuous improvement of enterprise production. However, if PPI remains high due to raw material prices, supply and demand balance, currency and other factors, it will have a negative impact on economic growth. If the scissors gap between PPI and CPI continues to increase, the transmission of price increases is inevitable, downstream corporate profits will be squeezed, and consumer prices will affect residents' lives and other aspects.

PMI, which is more targeted than PPI, is also concerned by national policy makers and market participants. The PMI of US Markit manufacturing industry reached a 23-month low of 52.4 in June, while the PMI of Markit service industry reached a five-month low of 51.6 in June. Although the manufacturing PMI is still above the 50 rise and fall line, it expanded at its slowest pace since early 2022, with growth slowing significantly in some sectors of the economy, particularly manufacturing activity. Against a backdrop of high inflation, rising interest rates, slowing demand and supply chain concerns, companies have downgraded their forecasts for the economic outlook for the coming year, with deteriorating forward-looking indicators heralding a contraction in the third quarter.

Summary

In the world's major economies, CPI, PPI and PMI are important indicators that are compiled and published on a regular basis. Observing the changes of these indicators can effectively analyze the economic environment, observe the inflation situation, and help investment decisions.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是CPI、PPI、PMI?

512人 学过2022.09.09
https://courseimg.futunn.com/20220909000018965c018a3e789.png

核心要点

● CPI、PPI、PMI等指数可以有效观察经济活动

● CPI和PPI是基于价格变化的指数,反映了消费端和生产端的价格变化

● PMI是反映宏观经济扩张还是收缩的指数,50是荣枯分界线

概念理解

消费者物价指数(CPI)、生产者物价指数(PPI)和采购经理人指数(PMI)是衡量宏观经济的三个重要指标。

CPI反映与居民生活有关的产品及劳务价格变化,通常用来观察通货膨胀和通货紧缩情况。不同国家和地区的CPI指数,涵盖的产品或服务的范围有明显不同,而且不同子项的权重也有不同。CPI短期涨跌幅度,直接反映出当前经济环境情况。CPI升幅越大,代表通货膨胀形势越明显。

PPI反映的是与工业企业生产环节的价格变动情况,用于衡量企业为了生产而购买的原材料、劳务等费用。PPI在不同国家和地区的子项比重也有不同,但基本都覆盖了原材料、中间品和产成品三个阶段的价格变化情况。

PPI和CPI有明显的联动关系。一般而言,在PPI持续上升期,生产企业或多或少都能将一部分价格变化转移到消费者身上,从而带动CPI的上涨。

PMI是通过对采购经理的调查汇总,反映经济是扩张趋势还是收缩趋势的指数,一般分为制造业PMI、服务业PMI、建筑业PMI等。PMI覆盖了新增订单、产量、配送、库存、积压订单、雇员情况等方面,以50为荣枯分界线,PMI高于50则代表经济扩张,高出越多,越显示经济扩张良好,低于50则代表经济收缩下滑,指数越低显示经济越萧条。

如何观察CPI、PPI、PMI

CPI、PPI、PMI都是重要的经济数据,不仅反映宏观经济形势,更是国家制定政策的重要参考因素。

以美国为例,2022年6月美国CPI环比上涨1.3%,同比增长9.1%,远高于市场预期,同比涨幅为1981年11月以来最大值。CPI显示美国通胀形势极其严重,世界多国央行继续加息,以应对本国持续的通胀影响。

PPI维持良性上涨趋势,一定程度上可以反映出经济活跃。在后疫情时代经济复苏期,生产需求增加,带动企业生产不断好转。不过,如果受原材料价格、供需平衡、货币等因素作用,PPI持续维持在高位,对经济增长将产生不利影响。PPI和CPI剪刀差不断加大的话,涨价传导不可避免,下游企业盈利受挤压,消费端涨价将影响居民生活等各方面。

比PPI更有针对性的PMI也被国家政策制定者和广大市场参与者所关注。2022年6月美国Markit制造业PMI为52.4,创23个月新低,6月Markit服务业PMI为51.6,创5个月新低。虽然制造业PMI仍位于50荣枯线上方,但扩张速度为2022年初以来最慢,一些经济领域增长明显放缓,尤其是制造业活动。在通胀高企、利率上升、需求放缓和供应链担忧等背景下,企业纷纷下调对未来一年经济前景的预期,不断恶化的前瞻性指标预示第三季度经济将出现收缩。

总结

在全球主要经济体,CPI, PPI, PMI等都是会定期编制并发布的重要指标。观察这些指标的变化,可以有效分析经济环境,观察通胀形势,帮助投资决策。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐

    回到顶部