Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is ESG Investment?

Views 32632022.03.02

Core points

ESG investment takes into account the financial return and the environmental, social and corporate governance factors of the enterprise.

ESG investment is becoming an important key word in the capital market

Some studies have shown that ESG investment can produce higher returns and lower risks.

The deficiency of ESG investment lies in the lack of unified evaluation criteria and the lack of long-term data support.

Detailed explanation of concept

ESG investment is a form of socially responsible investment. Traditional investment usually only focuses on corporate profit and financial return, but neglects social responsibility, while ESG investment takes financial return into consideration with the influencing factors of Environmental, Social and Governance.

Among them, E represents the impact of the enterprise on the environment, such as whether the enterprise complies with the environmental protection policy in the production process, whether it pollutes the environment, whether it deals with harmful chemicals reasonably and so on.

S represents the influence of the enterprise on the society, including the concern of the enterprise to the employees, customers, suppliers and other stakeholders, the responsibility to the community, and whether the enterprise has established a good corporate image in the society.

G stands for corporate governance, including board independence, executive compensation, leadership diversification and other issues.

Development status

At present, ESG investment is in the ascendant and has become a new trend. More and more investors are integrating environmental, social and corporate governance into investment decisions as indicators of corporate sustainability. In the context of the epidemic and carbon emission reduction, ESG investment has also become an important keyword in the capital market.

In China, there has been a surge in the number of ESG products issued by various asset management agencies this year. Data show that in 2020, three public offering funds under the name of ESG were issued in the Chinese market, while in the first half of 2021 alone, this number increased to eight. At the same time, the scale of related products issued by commercial banks in China has reached nearly 10 billion yuan.

In the American market, the development of ESG investment is more mature, and the size of assets is also increasing day by day. According to statistics, as of June 2020, the size of ESG index funds in the United States has reached 50 billion US dollars, which is a significant increase compared with 4.1 billion US dollars 10 years ago.

More and more studies have shown that ESG investment can produce higher return on investment and lower risk of withdrawal. For example, between 2014 and 2018, companies in the top 1 ESG 5 of the S & P 500 performed more than 25 per cent better than those in the bottom 1, while companies with the top ESG also had relatively little volatility.

shortcomings

1. Lack of unified ESG evaluation criteria.

With regard to the evaluation indicators of ESG, at present, a unified standard has not been formed around the world, and each organization has formulated an evaluation system according to its own considerations. Mingsheng Index (MSCI), FTSE Russell, Bloomberg and other well-known institutions have compiled their own ESG evaluation index system, and launched the relevant index, of which MSCI ESG Index constituent stocks more than 1500.

The lack of uniform standards for ESG performance evaluation results in inconsistencies between ESG portfolios and funds. Some funds may even hold tobacco stocks based on some one-sided evaluation criteria.

2. ESG investment lacks long-term performance data.

ESG investment has sprung up rapidly in recent years and has shown higher-than-average excess returns. However, due to the short time of its rise, ESG investment is currently not supported by long-term performance data and is still not enough to attract some investors who are fully focused on financial returns. ESG investment remains to be tested over time, but the direction of the tide is clear.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.
Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是ESG投资?

2574人 学过2022.03.02

核心要点

ESG投资将财务回报与企业对环境、社会和公司治理各方面因素综合考量

ESG投资正成为资本市场的重要关键词

有研究表明,ESG投资能产生更高回报,同时风险也较低

ESG投资的不足之处在于缺乏统一评判标准及缺乏长期数据支撑

概念详解

ESG投资是一种社会责任投资形式。传统的投资通常只关注企业利润与财务回报,而忽略了社会责任,而ESG投资则将财务回报与企业对环境(Environmental)、社会(Social)和公司治理(Governance)各方面影响因素综合考量。

其中E代表企业对环境的影响,如企业在生产过程中是否遵从环保政策,是否污染环境,是否合理处理有害化学物质等。

S代表企业对社会的影响,包括企业对员工、客户、供应商等利益相关方的关怀,对社区的责任,企业是否在社会中树立了良好的企业形象。

G代表公司治理,包括董事会的独立性,高管薪酬,领导者多元化等各类问题。

发展状况

目前ESG投资方兴未艾,成为一股新的潮流。越来越多的投资人正在把环境、社会和公司治理作为对企业可持续发展性的衡量指标,融入投资决策之中。在疫情与碳减排的大背景下,ESG投资也已经成为资本市场的重要关键词。

在中国境内,各类资管机构发行的ESG产品在今年激增。数据显示,2020年全年,中国市场上发行了3只以ESG为名的公募基金,而仅在2021年上半年,这一数字就增长到八只,同时,中国境内商业银行发行的相关产品规模已达到近百亿元。

在美国市场,ESG投资发展则更为成熟,资产规模也与日剧增。据统计,截至2020年6月,美国的ESG指数基金规模达到500亿美元,较10年前的41亿美元增长非常显著。

而越来越多的研究表明,ESG投资能产生更高的投资回报,同时回撤的风险也更低。例如,2014-2018年期间,标普500指数成分股中,ESG排名前1/5的公司,股价表现比排名后1/5的公司高出25%以上,与此同时,ESG排名靠前的公司,股价波动也相对较小。

不足之处

1、缺乏统一的ESG评判标准

有关ESG的评价指标,目前全球范围内还没有形成统一标准,各家机构根据自身考量,制定评价体系。明晟指数(MSCI)、富时罗素、彭博等知名机构均有编制各自的ESG评价指标体系,并推出相关指数,其中MSCI的 ESG 指数成分股超过1500只。

ESG绩效评估缺乏统一标准,也因此造成了ESG投资组合和基金的不一致性。某些基金甚至会基于某种片面的评估标准,而持有烟草类股票。

2、ESG投资缺乏长期业绩数据

ESG投资在最近几年迅速兴起,并且表现出高于市场均值的超额回报。不过,由于兴起时间尚短,ESG投资目前缺乏长期业绩数据支撑,仍然不足以吸引部分完全关注财务回报的投资者。ESG投资仍有待时间的检验,但潮水的方向是明确的。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。
回到顶部