Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is Margin Trading?

Views 11502022.06.28

https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022062800000197e2912f8da3b.jpg

Core points

  • Margin trading refers to financing or margin trading from brokers with financable securities or cash in the account as collateral.

  • Margin trading uses leverage, which magnifies the gains or losses of investments.

  • When conducting margin trading, investors must deposit a certain initial margin and meet the maintenance margin requirements.

Detailed explanation of concept

Margin trading refers to the transaction in which the parties to securities trading only pay a certain margin (or securities) to the securities company when buying and selling securities, and the securities company provides financing or margin trading. Margin refers to the amount that needs to be deposited with a broker when borrowing money to buy securities.

When conducting margin transactions, investors use financable securities or cash in their brokerage accounts as collateral to guarantee loans. Interest rates on mortgages will be calculated and charged on a regular basis.

For example, if your broker has an initial margin requirement of 60% for a stock and you want to buy a stock worth $10000, your margin will be $6000 and the remaining $4000 will be lent to you by the broker.

If investors want to trade on margin, they need a margin account, not a regular cash account. A margin account is a standard brokerage account that allows investors to use cash or securities in their accounts as collateral for loans. Each broker has different requirements for the qualification of margin transactions and provides different terms of service. Brokers can set their own margin ratio requirements and interest rate charging terms.

Because investors use leverage in margin trading, both losses and gains are magnified.

Advantages and disadvantages of margin trading

  • Advantages:

1. Increase in purchasing power

The most obvious benefit of margin trading is that it amplifies the purchasing power of investors. Margin trading allows you to borrow money for trading, so investors can buy more shares than they usually use cash accounts.

2. Higher potential returns

Margin trading makes use of capital leverage and magnifies the potential profit margins of investors.

  • Disadvantages:

1. Higher risk

It is risky to borrow money to invest. Regardless of whether the securities purchased appreciate or depreciate, investors must repay the amount borrowed.

2. Interest expenses

Borrowing money is not free. When using margin to invest, the investor must pay the corresponding interest according to the amount borrowed. Before making margin investments, investors should consider their costs-fixed interest charges. Even if the shares bought by investors maintain their value, the cost of borrowing money will lead to losses.

3. Margin requirement

When investors want to make margin transactions, they must deposit a certain initial margin, usually as a percentage of the transaction amount. Once the deposit is paid, it will be deposited into the margin account of the clearing house. The initial margin can be used as a guarantee to prevent the investor from failing to perform the contract due to any adverse change in price.

After the margin trading takes place, the ratio of the amount of margin to the market value of the securities purchased will change with the fluctuation of the market, and investors need to ensure that this ratio is above the minimum level set by a broker.

According to the Regulation T of the Federal Reserve, the standard initial margin requirement for stocks is at least 50%, and the maintenance margin requirement is 25%. Brokers may set different margin requirements according to specific securities.

If the investor fails to meet the maintenance margin requirement, a margin call may be triggered, informing the investor that additional funds must be deposited. If the investor fails to meet the margin requirement within the prescribed time limit, the securities company may forcibly close its position.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是保证金交易?

2537人 学过2022.06.28

https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022062800000197e2912f8da3b.jpg

核心要点

  • 保证金交易是指以账户中可融资证券或现金作抵押,从经纪商融资或融券进行交易。

  • 保证金交易使用了杠杆,会放大投资的收益或损失。

  • 进行保证金交易时,投资者必须存入一定的初始保证金,并且满足维持保证金要求。

概念详解

保证金交易是指证券交易的当事人在买卖证券时,只向证券公司交付一定的保证金(或证券),而由证券公司提供融资或者融券进行的交易。保证金是指在借钱购买证券时需存入经纪商的金额。

当进行保证金交易时,投资者使用其经纪账户中的可融资证券或现金作为抵押品来担保贷款。抵押贷款的利率将定期计算和收取。

例如,如果您的经纪商对某只股票的初始保证金要求为 60%,而您希望购买价值 10,000 美元的股票,那么您的保证金将为 6,000 美元,剩余4,000美元由经纪商借给您。  

如果投资者想以保证金进行交易,则需要一个保证金账户,而不能用普通现金账户。保证金账户是一个标准的经纪账户,允许投资者使用其账户中的现金或证券作为贷款的抵押品。每个经纪商对获取保证金交易的资格都有不同的要求,并提供不同的服务条款。经纪商可以制定自己的保证金比例要求及利率收取条款。  

因为在保证金交易中,投资者使用了杠杆,因此损失和收益都会被放大。  

保证金交易的优缺点

  • 优点:

1、购买力增加

保证金交易最明显的好处是它放大了投资者的购买力。保证金交易允许借钱交易,因此投资者可以购买比通常使用现金账户更多的股票。

2、更高的潜在回报

保证金交易利用了资金杠杆,也放大了投资者潜在的利润空间。

  • 缺点:

1、更高的风险

借钱投资是有风险的。无论购买的证券是升值还是贬值,投资者都必须偿还借入的金额。

2、利息费用

借钱不是免费的。当使用保证金进行投资时,投资者必须根据借入的金额支付相应的利息。 在进行保证金投资之前,投资者应考虑其成本——固定的利息费用。 即使投资者购买的股票保持价值,借钱的成本也将导致损失。 

3、保证金要求

当投资者想要进行保证金交易,则必须存入一定的初始保证金,通常按交易金额的一定百分比收取。该笔保证金一旦交纳,即存入清算所的保证金账户。初始保证金可以作为一种保障,以免投资者因任何价格的不利变化而不履行合约给交易对方造成损失。

在保证金交易发生后,保证金的数额与买入证券的市场价值的比例将会随着市场的波动而变化,投资者需要保证这个比例在一个经纪商规定的最低水平之上。

根据美国联邦储备委员会Regulation T之规定,股票的标准初始保证金需求至少为50%,维护保证金需求为25%。经纪商可能根据具体的证券设立不同的保证金要求。

如果投资者未能满足维持保证金要求,则可能会触发追加保证金通知,即通知投资者必须存入额外资金。 如果投资者在规定期限内不能满足追加保证金的要求,证券公司可能强行平仓。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐