Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is Merrill Lynch Clock?

Views 26482022.07.05

Core points

  • Based on the high and low macro indicators of economic growth and inflation, Merrill Lynch divides the economic cycle into four stages: recession, recovery, overheating and stagflation.

  • Merrill Lynch clock can help investors identify important turning points in the economic cycle and is a very practical investment tool to guide asset allocation.

  • In reality, the Merrill Lynch clock does not simply rotate according to the classic economic cycle, sometimes the clock will move backward or skip a phase forward.

Detailed explanation of concept

According to the statistical analysis of Merrill Lynch data for more than 30 years, it is found that although each economic cycle has its own uniqueness, there are some similar factors hidden in it. If it can be used reasonably, investors will get better returns.

So Merrill Lynch put forward the Merrill Lynch clock investment model by linking "assets", "industry rotation", "bond yield curve" and "four stages of economic cycle". Merrill Lynch clock can help investors identify important turning points in the economic cycle and is a very practical investment tool to guide asset allocation.

Based on the high and low macro indicators of economic growth rate (GDP) and inflation rate (CPI), Merrill Lynch divides the economic cycle into four stages: recession (low GDP+ and low CPI), recovery (high GDP+ and low CPI), overheating (high GDP+ and high CPI), and stagflation (low GDP+ and high CPI):

1. InRecession periodGDP growth is slow or stagnant, excess capacity and falling commodity prices make inflation lower, corporate profits weaken and income levels decline, and the government and central banks cut interest rates to stimulate consumption and production, resulting in a sharp decline in the yield curve. At this time, bond assets performed best.

2. InRecovery periodLoose policies gradually began to work, economic growth began to accelerate and inflation fell. The central bank still keeps its policy loose and the bond yield curve remains low. At this time, it is best to invest in stocks. At this stage, corporate profits have increased significantly, and the expectation of a better economy is also good for the stock market, and stock assets have become the most prominent category of assets at this stage.

3. InOverheating periodGDP growth remains at a high level, but productivity growth is slowing, inflation is rising, and the central bank may raise interest rates to return the overheated economy to a sustainable growth path. The policy of raising interest rates reduces the attractiveness of bonds because the yield curve moves upward and is "flattened". The allocation value of stocks is relatively strong, while commodities will be significantly bullish.

4. InStagnation periodGDP growth is lower than potential economic growth, corporate production is falling, producers are raising prices to boost profit margins, and inflation continues to rise. At this time, most of the demand has been met, and the new capacity of enterprises in the overheating stage is put into operation at this stage, resulting in oversupply and the decline of corporate profit margins at this stage. The central bank can loosen monetary policy only when inflation has passed its peak, thus limiting the pace at which bond markets can recover. When corporate profits deteriorate, economic growth declines and equity assets perform poorly, it is wiser to hold cash.

How to treat and use Merrill Lynch clock correctly

The investment clock of Merrill Lynch is essentially an economic cycle fluctuation theory based on demand-side changes, and the main logic behind it is that fundamentals and monetary policy interact to form a short-term economic cycle, thus affecting the trend of large categories of assets. Investors can grasp the trends in the cyclical transformation by identifying the important inflection points of fundamentals and monetary policy.

The investment clock of Merrill Lynch is based on the assumptions that the economy dominates finance, the short-term economy fluctuates around the long-term economic trend, and the government countercyclical macro-control irons out the short-term economic fluctuations. In reality, the Merrill Lynch clock does not simply rotate according to the classic economic cycle, sometimes the clock will move backward or skip a phase forward.

Therefore, when using Merrill Lynch clock to guide investment decisions, investors need to make a comprehensive analysis combined with the actual situation of the market.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.
Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是美林时钟?

6239人 学过2022.11.08
playBtn

核心要点

  • 美林时钟基于经济增长率和通货膨胀率这两个宏观指标的高和低,将经济周期分成了衰退期、复苏期、过热期和滞胀期四个阶段。

  • 美林时钟可以帮助投资者识别经济周期的重要转折点,是一个非常实用的指导资产配置的的投资工具。

  • 现实中,美林时钟并不会简单按照经典的经济周期进行轮动,有时,时钟会向后移动或者向前跳过一个阶段。

概念详解

美林证券根据30多年的数据统计分析发现:虽然每个经济周期都有其独特性,但其中确实隐藏了一些相似的因素,如果可以合理运用,投资者将取得更好的收益。

于是美林将「资产」、「行业轮动」、「债券收益率曲线」、「经济周期四个阶段」联系起来,提出美林时钟投资模型。美林时钟可以帮助投资者识别经济周期的重要转折点,是一个非常实用的指导资产配置的的投资工具。

美林时钟基于经济增长率(GDP)和通货膨胀率(CPI)这两个宏观指标的高和低,将经济周期分成了衰退期(低GDP+低CPI);复苏期(高GDP+低CPI);过热期(高GDP+高CPI);滞胀期(低GDP+高CPI)四个阶段:

1、在衰退期,GDP增长缓慢或停滞,过剩的生产力、下跌的大宗商品价格使得通胀水平走低,企业盈利走弱并且收益水平下行,政府、央行为刺激消费、生产降低利率,从而收益率曲线急剧下行。此时,债券资产的表现最为出色。

2、在复苏期,宽松的政策逐步开始奏效,经济增长开始加速,通胀水平下降。中央银行仍然保持政策松动,债券收益率曲线仍在较低位置。 此时,最宜投资股票。该阶段企业盈利大幅提升,经济向好的预期也利好股市,股票类资产成为该阶段表现最突出的大类资产。

3、在过热期,GDP增长仍保持在较高水平但生产率增长放缓,通货膨胀上升,中央银行可能通过加息使过热的经济回到可持续增长路径。 加息政策降低了债券的吸引力,因为收益率曲线向上移动和并呈现「平坦化」特征。股票的配置价值相对较强,大宗商品则将明显走牛。

4、在滞胀期,GDP增长率低于潜在经济增长,企业产量下滑,生产者为提高利润率而提高价格,通胀继续上升。此时大部分需求已经被满足,而企业在过热阶段新增产能在此阶段投放,导致供过于求,该阶段企业利润率的下降。只有等通胀过了顶峰,央行才能放松货币政策,所以限制了债券市场回暖的步伐。企业盈利恶化,经济增长下滑,股票类资产的表现较差此时,持有现金最明智。

如何正确看待和使用美林时钟

美林投资时钟本质上是一种基于需求侧变化的经济周期波动理论,其背后的主要逻辑认为,基本面和货币政策相互作用形成短期经济周期,从而影响大类资产走势。投资者可以通过识别基本面和货币政策的重要拐点,把握周期变换中的趋势。

美林投资时钟是建立在经济主导金融、短期经济围绕长期经济趋势波动、政府逆周期宏观调控熨平短期经济波动等假设前提之上。而现实中,美林时钟并不会简单按照经典的经济周期进行轮动,有时,时钟会向后移动或者向前跳过一个阶段。

因此在使用美林时钟指导投资决策时,投资者需要结合市场的实际情况综合分析。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。