Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is Ross IRA Retirement Account?

Views 2732022.08.19
https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022081900001517f8171f2f77a.png

Key takeaways

● A Roth IRA is a special individual retirement account (IRA) that allows individuals below a certain income ceiling to contribute a fixed amount of money each year.

● Single filers can contribute to a Roth IRA if they earn less than $144,000 in 2022. For married couples filing jointly, the limit is $214,000 in 2022.

● The main difference between traditional IRAs and Roth IRAs is how the two are taxed.

Understanding a Roth IRA

A Roth IRA is an individual retirement account where you pay taxes on money going into your account, and then all future withdrawals are tax-free.

In 2022, the maximum contribution limit to a Roth IRA is $6,000 for individuals under 50 and $7,000 for those over 50. The maximum modified adjusted gross income limit to be eligible for a Roth IRA is $144,000 for single filers, and $214,000 for joint filers. Roth IRA income and contribution caps are frequently adjusted.

In most cases, you can withdraw your money in retirement without paying additional taxes if you have a Roth IRA instead of a traditional IRA because the former allows you to pay taxes on your income now. The latter requires you to pay taxes when you withdraw your money. However, traditional IRAs are designed to allow contributors to withdraw money when they are older and are typically taxed at a lower rate.

For some investors, particularly those who anticipate moving into a higher tax bracket in the future, Roth IRAs can be advantageous.

Example of How a Roth IRA Works

If a person taxed at 12% today wants to invest $4,000 in a Roth IRA, she will pay $480 in taxes, leaving her with only $3,520 available to invest. Assuming her investment doubles by the time she wants to begin withdrawing, her account would be worth $7,040, regardless of what her future tax rate is.

If that same person uses a traditional IRA, her $4,000 is tax-deductible. Assuming her investment doubles, her account be worth is $8,000. However, she has to pay taxes on any amounts withdrawn. If her tax rate is still 12%, the value of her IRA is $7,040 after taxes. But if her tax rate is higher (let's assume 22%), regardless of whether it's through tax hikes or higher earnings, her account would only be worth $6,240 after taxes.

Investors should therefore think about which IRA type is best for them while keeping in mind that future tax implications and personal circumstances can change over time.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.
Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是罗斯IRA退休账户?

299人 学过2022.08.19
https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022081900001518b14c6335d71.png

关键要点

● 罗斯IRA是一种特殊的个人退休账户(IRA),允许低于一定收入上限的个人每年缴纳固定数额的资金作为养老金。

● 在2022年,单身申报者可缴纳罗斯IRA的收入上限为144,000美元,联合申报的已婚夫妇的收入上限为214,000美元。

● 传统IRA退休账户和罗斯IRA退休账户的主要区别在于两者的征税方式。

了解罗斯IRA退休账户

罗斯IRA是一个特殊的个人退休账户,个人需要为存入账户的钱交税,但未来取出时不再需要缴税。

在2022年,50岁以下的个人对罗斯IRA的最高缴款限额为每年6000美元,50岁以上的人为每年7000美元。对申报罗斯IRA的个人,调整后总收入限制是:单身申报者为144,000美元,已婚夫妇联合申报者为214,000美元。由于罗斯IRA的收入限值和最高缴款上限经常被调整,以上数据仅供参考,具体要求以实际为准。

在大多数情况下,如果你有罗斯IRA而不是传统IRA,你可以在退休后提取你的钱,而不需要支付额外的税,因为前者只需要你为存入账户的钱缴税,而后者则要求你在提取资金时缴税。对于一些投资者来说,特别是那些预计将来会有更高税率的投资者,罗斯IRA可能比传统IRA更有利。

罗斯IRA如何运作

如果一个目前税率为12%的人想在罗斯IRA中投资4000美元,她将支付480美元的税,只剩下3520美元可供投资。假设她的资产翻了一番,不管她未来的税率是多少,她将可以取出7040美元。

如果同一个人在传统IRA投资4000美元,这4000美元是不需要缴税的。假设她的投资翻倍,她的账户价值为8,000美元。然而,她必须为提取的任何金额缴税。如果她的税率仍然是12%,她的账户价值是税后7,040美元。但是,如果她的税率变得更高了(我们假设是22%),她的账户税后只值6,240美元。

因此,投资者应该根据个人的税率、收入等实际情况,去考虑最适合自己的IRA账户。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。
回到顶部