Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is Tapering?

Views 19242022.06.16

Key points

  • Tapering is a process for the Federal Reserve to reduce quantitative easing.

  • Tapering is not a tightening policy, but a stage of a complete quantitative policy cycle.

  • Tapering has obvious influence on gold, bond and real estate market.

Understanding

Tapering is derived from the word taper, which generally refers to the Fed's operation to reduce the size of quantitative easing (QE).

QE is Quantitative Easing, quantitative easing, the central bank through the purchase of bonds, bank financial assets and other ways to inject liquidity into the market.

Tapering is to tighten monetary policy, gradually reduce the size of asset purchases, gradually withdraw from QE, and withdraw liquidity.

A complete quantitative policy cycle includes quantitative easing (QE), quantitative easing (Tapering) and quantitative tightening (QT), so Tapering is not a tightening policy, but a process in which the Fed gradually curtails its asset purchases until it no longer buys more assets.

Tapering's impact

Historically, Tapering has had a significant impact on the following three types of assets:

First, gold. Due to the withdrawal of monetary stimulus and the improvement of the economy, gold maintained a downward trend during the last round of Tapering discussion and implementation, with an overall decline of more than 20%.

Second, bonds. The Fed's cutback in asset purchases has a direct impact on demand for Treasuries. During the last round of Tapering discussions, Treasuries were affected by liquidity and prices fell significantly, causing yields to rise sharply by 130bp at one point. However, during the implementation of Tapering, the price of treasury bonds rose again, and the yield of treasury bonds fell again.

Third, real estate. During the last round of QE, the US housing market rose significantly, with the S & P house price index rising from 2.5 per cent at the start of QE to 13.7 per cent before Tapering. Then Tapering began to be implemented, and the index fell back quickly, falling as low as 4.3 per cent, and Tapering had a significant impact on the trend of real estate prices.

Conclusion: even if Tapering is not tightening, it represents expectations of a normalisation of monetary policy, especially with asset valuations at historically high quantiles. Therefore, the impact of the Tapering process on asset price fluctuations can not be ignored.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.
Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是tapering?

1311人 学过2022.06.16

关键要点

  • Tapering是美联储缩减量化宽松的过程

  • Tapering并不是紧缩政策,只是完整量化政策周期的一个阶段

  • Tapering对黄金、债券、房地产市场有较为明显的影响

Understanding

Tapering是从taper一词衍生而来,一般是指美联储缩减量化宽松(QE)规模的操作。

QE即Quantitative Easing,量化宽松,央行通过购买债券、银行金融资产等方式向市场注入流动性。

Tapering就是收紧货币政策,逐渐缩减资产购买规模,逐步退出QE,收回流动性。

一个完整的量化政策周期包括:量化宽松(QE),退出量化宽松(Tapering),量化紧缩(QT),所以Tapering并不是紧缩政策,而是美联储逐渐缩减资产购买直至不再新增购买资产的过程。

Tapering's impact

从历史情况看,Tapering对以下三类资产有较为明显的影响:

第一,黄金。由于货币刺激政策退出和经济向好不利于黄金价格,黄金在上轮Tapering讨论和实施阶段保持下跌趋势,整体跌幅在20%以上。

第二,债券。美联储缩减资产购买规模直接影响美债的需求,在上轮Tapering讨论期间,美国国债受流动性影响,价格明显下跌,一度使得国债收益率大幅上行130个基点。但Tapering实施期间,国债价格反而又出现上涨,国债收益率再度走低。

第三,房地产。在上一轮量化宽松实施期间,美国房地产市场显著上涨,标普房价指数涨幅由开启量化宽松时的2.5%扩大到实施Tapering前的13.7%。随后Tapering开始实施,该指数涨幅快速回落,最低回落至4.3%的水平,Tapering对房地产价格的走势影响明显。

总结:即便Tapering还不是紧缩,但其代表了货币政策正常化的预期,尤其是当前资产估值水平处于历史的高分位。因此,Tapering进程对资产价格波动的影响不可忽略。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。
回到顶部