Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is The Dow Jones Industrial Average?

Views 32042022.03.02

Core points

  • The Dow is the oldest stock index in the United States and currently contains 30 constituent stocks.

  • The characteristics of the Dow include: relatively concentrated and weighted by the share price of constituent stocks

  • The average annual return of the Dow over the past 30 years is about 8.2%.

Detailed explanation of concept

When it comes to the oldest and most credible stock index in the United States, it is the Dow Jones Industrial average. The Dow Jones Industrial average, or Dow for short, is an index compiled by the Wall Street Journal and Charles Dow, founder of the Dow Jones Company. it has a history of more than 120 years and was first published in May 1896.

At the beginning of its compilation, the Dow included 12 of the most representative stocks in American industry. Today, the first 12 stocks are no longer on the Dow's list, and after constant updating, the Dow now includes 30 of the largest and best-known listed companies in various industries in the United States, most of which have nothing to do with heavy industry. but distributed in food, finance, pharmaceuticals, software and other industries. Apple Inc, Boeing Co, Walt Disney Company and McDonald's Corp, as we know them, are all its constituent stocks.

Exponential characteristics

Relative concentration: as an important index reflecting the overall situation of the market, there are only 30 Dow constituent stocks, far lower than the S & P 500 and NASDAQ composite index. It is generally considered that the number of constituent stocks is too small and relatively concentrated.

Weighted by price: the Dow is the price-weighted average of constituent stocks, not the market capitalization weighted average. This makes high-priced stocks more influential in the average index than low-priced stocks. For example, at the close of trading on September 16, 2021, Microsoft Corp's share price was US $305 and Apple Inc's share price was US $149. the market capitalization of the two companies is similar, but because it is weighted by stock price, Microsoft Corp has twice as much influence on the Dow as Apple Inc.

Index performance

Since its inception in May 1896, the Dow has risen from an initial value of 40.94 to 30606 at the end of 2020, a 747.6-fold increase in 124 years, with an average annual return of 5.48 per cent.

But in the past 124 years, the market has changed so much that the 12 stocks at the beginning of the Dow are no longer on the list. The performance data of some periods are more valuable. For example, in the 31 years from 1990 to 2020, the Dow returned an average of 8.24% a year.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是道琼斯工业指数?

4388人 学过2022.03.02

核心要点

  • 道指是美国历史上最悠久的股票指数,目前包含30只成分股

  • 道指的特征包括:相对集中、按成分股股价加权

  • 道指近30年年平均回报约为8.2%

概念详解

说到美国历史上最悠久、最有公信力的股票指数,非道琼斯工业指数莫属。道琼斯工业指数,简称道指,是由《华尔街日报》和道琼斯公司创建者查尔斯·道编制的指数,在1896年5月首次公布,距今已有120多年的历史。

道指编制之初,包含了美国工业中最具代表性的12只股票。时至今日,最初的12只股票已不在道指成分股名单,经过不断更新,道指的成分股如今包含美国各行业最大及最知名的30家上市公司,这些公司大部分已经与重工业无关,而是分布在食品、金融、制药、软件等行业。我们所熟知的苹果、波音、迪士尼、麦当劳等都是它的成分股。

指数特点

相对集中:作为反映市场整体情况的重要指数,道指成分股仅有30家,远远低于标普500指数和纳斯达克综合指数,普遍被认为成分股数量过少,相对比较集中。

按价格加权:道指是成分股的价格加权平均数,而不是市值加权平均数。这就使得高价股比低价股在平均指数中更有影响力。例如,2021年9月16日收盘,微软的股价是305美元,苹果股价是149美元,两家公司市值差不多,但由于是按股价加权,微软对道指的影响力是苹果的两倍。

指数表现

自1896年5月成立以来,道指从40.94点的初始值,上涨到2020年底的30606点,124年时间上涨747.6倍,每年的平均回报率为5.48%。

但在这124年里,市场发生了很大的变化,道指成立之初的12只股票都已经不在成分股名单。某些时期的业绩数据更有参考价值。例如,从1990年到2020年的31年时间,道指每年的平均年回报率为8.24%。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐