Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is The Relative Strength Index?

Views 12462022.07.05

https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022070500000326c6ba2c0a12e.png

Key points

  • The relative strength Index (RSI) is a momentum indicator that measures the speed and extent of price changes.

  • Generally speaking, RSI above 70 is considered overbought and below 30 is considered oversold.

  • RSI deviations and failure swings can also generate trading signals.

Understand the relative strength index

The relative strength Index (RSI), proposed by J.Welles Wilder, is a momentum index that measures recent price changes and can be used as a basis for judging whether the prices of stocks or other assets are overbought or oversold. Its calculation formula is

Where RS is equal to the average gain of n days up, divided by the average loss of n days below. According to Welles (1978), the standard time n is 14, but investors can also take different n values according to different trading varieties and trading strategies.

How to explain the relative strength index

Overbought and oversold

In terms of market analysis and trading signals, in general, when RSI is below 30, it is considered oversold and is usually seen as a bullish signal. The latter sentence is also regarded as overbought. On the contrary, when the RSI is higher than 70, it is considered overbought and is considered a bearish signal. Investors can also set the RSI overbuy and oversell range according to the variety and strategy of the actual transaction. For example, 20 and 80 are usually used in trades that fluctuate quickly and within a wide range.

Deviate from

Generally speaking, the trend of RSI is similar to that of price, but in some cases, there will be a deviation between RSI and price. Deviation is a phenomenon used in technical analysis to describe the temporary reverse movement of some technical indicators and target prices that should have moved in the same direction. When securities prices reach a lower low and RSI forms a higher low, there is a RSI bullish divergence.

When the price of a security reaches a higher high and RSI forms a lower high, there is a bearish divergence in RSI.

Failure swing

The failure of the RSI swing may be a sign of a price reversal, which is completely independent of the price and only depends on the changes in RSI. Failure swings occur when RSI does not break through the highs in the uptrend or the lows in the downtrend, which is seen as a sign of bearish or bullish.

Bearish failure swing

1. RSI rose to 70 but soon fell below 70.

2. RSI increased slightly but still below 70.

3. RSI dropped to a lower level than before.

Bullish failure to swing

1. RSI dropped to 30 but soon recovered to more than 30.

2. RSI shrank, but it was still above 30.

3. The RSI is high before the breakthrough.

Limitations of RSI

As a momentum indicator, RSI has a certain transaction reference value. Through RSI overbought and oversold investors can identify relevant trading opportunities. It is important to note, however, that RSI becomes less accurate when the price trend is strong and should be used with caution. In addition, the reliability of a single technical index is limited, in practical application, investors who use technical analysis often combine multiple technical indicators to confirm the timing of trading, so as to improve the probability of successful trading.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

    Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是相对强弱指数?

2324人 学过2022.07.05

https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022070500000326c6ba2c0a12e.png

关键要点

  • 相对强弱指数(RSI)是一个动量指标,衡量价格变动的速度和幅度。

  • 一般来说,RSI高于70时被认为是超买,低于30时被认为是超卖。

  • RSI背离和失败摇摆也可以产生交易信号。

了解相对强弱指数

相对强弱指数(RSI)是由J.Welles Wilder提出的,是一个衡量近期价格变化幅度的动量指标,可作为判断股票或其他资产价格是否超买或超卖的依据。它的计算公式为

其中RS等于上涨n天的平均收益除以下跌n天的平均损失。根据Welles (1978),标准时间n是14,但投资者也可以根据不同交易品种和交易策略取不同的n值。

如何解释相对强弱指数

超买和超卖

在市场分析和交易信号方面,一般情况下,当RSI在30以下时,被视为超卖,通常被看作一个看涨信号。后一句也是被视为超买。相反,当RSI高于70时,视为超买,被认为是一个看跌信号。投资者也可以根据实际交易的品种和策略来设置RSI超买超卖区间。例如,20和80通常被运用于一些波动快速且波动幅度较大的交易品种。

背离

一般来说RSI的走势和价格走势相当,但在某些情况下也会出现RSI和价格走势背离的情况。背离是技术分析中用来描述部分本应同向运动的技术指标和标的价格发生暂时反向运动的现象。当证券价格达到一个较低的低点,而RSI形成一个较高的低点时,就出现了RSI看涨背离。

当一个证券价格达到一个较高的高位,而RSI形成一个较低的高点时,就出现了RSI看跌背离。

失败摇摆

RSI的失败摇摆可能是价格反转的信号,它完全独立于价格并只看RSI的变化。当RSI没有突破上升趋势中的高点或下降趋势中的低点时,就会发生失败摇摆,被认为是看跌或看涨的信号。

看跌失败摇摆

1. RSI上升到70但很快回落到70以下。

2. RSI略微上升但仍低于70。

3. RSI下降到低于之前的低点。

看涨失败摇摆

1. RSI下降到30但很快回升到30以上。

2. RSI回缩但仍在30以上。

3. RSI 突破前高。

RSI的局限性

作为一个动量指标,RSI具有一定的交易参考价值。通过RSI超买超卖投资者可以识别相关交易机会。但需要注意的是,RSI在价格趋势强劲时,会变得不那么准确,应谨慎使用。此外,单一技术指标的可靠性有限,在实际运用中,运用技术分析的投资者往往会结合多个技术指标来确认交易时机,从而提高成功交易的概率。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐