Download
Download by
Scanning QR Code
  • Download app

    Download app

  • Online Inquiry

    Log in to access Online Inquiry
+
Congratulations
You've successfully got advanced quotes worth 5000 HKD
Download APP >>

What Is The Sunk Cost?

Views 25402022.06.16

Overview of key points

  • Sunk cost refers to the cost that has been incurred and cannot be recovered.

  • Sunk cost will not affect current behavior or future decision-making, and rational decision-makers should rule out the interference of sunk cost when making investment decisions.

  • The fallacy of sunk cost refers to the phenomenon that people take sunk cost into consideration when making decisions because of loss and abomination.

Detailed explanation of concept

Sunk cost refers to the cost expenditure that has been incurred or promised and cannot be recovered in any way. Sunk cost is a kind of historical cost, which is uncontrollable for existing decisions and will not affect current behavior or future decisions. In this sense, rational decision-makers should eliminate the interference of sunk costs and only consider variable costs (costs that are related to a particular decision and will change according to that decision).

Sunk costs can be fixed costs or variable costs. When an enterprise cancels a department or stops the production of a certain product, the sunk cost usually includes not only fixed costs such as machinery and equipment, but also variable costs such as raw materials and parts. In general, fixed costs are more likely to sink than variable costs.

The sunk cost can be the overall cost or the partial cost. For example, if the machinery and equipment abandoned midway can be sold to get part of the value, then its book value will not all sink, only the part whose realization value is lower than the book value is the sunk cost.

Stiglitz, an American economist who was one of the winners of the 2001 Nobel Prize in economics, also used a life example to illustrate what sunk costs are. "if you buy a movie ticket for $7, you doubt whether the movie is worth $7," he said. After watching it for half an hour, your worst worry has been confirmed: the film is terrible. Should you leave the cinema?

You should ignore the $7 when making this decision. It is a sunk cost, and whether you leave the cinema or not, the money will never be recovered. However, many people will force themselves to watch a movie they don't want to see because they are afraid of wasting money on tickets, a phenomenon known as the "sunk cost fallacy". This fear of "wasting" resources is called "loss hatred".

A typical case of sunk cost

In the 1960s, Britain and France jointly developed a large supersonic civil airliner (Concorde). In the middle of research and development, many experts involved in the project have realized that the project is very expensive and does not have much economic benefits, but due to the resources already invested in the previous period, both governments did not get out of the project in the end. and continue to spend more money (it is said that the total cost is eight times the budget). The Concorde was finally developed, but it was not competitive at all, and it ended hastily (only 16 aircraft were put into civil aviation operation). Because the example of Concorde is very typical, the "sunk cost fallacy" is sometimes called the "Concorde effect".

Contrary to the above example, Intel Corp's decision to cancel the entire Timna chip production line in December 2000 rationally ignored the sunk cost. Timna is an integrated chip designed by Intel Corp Company for low-end PC. When working on this project, the company thought that computer cost reduction would be achieved through highly integrated (integrated) design in the future. But later, great changes have taken place in the PC market, and PC manufacturers have achieved their goals through other system cost reduction methods. After seeing this clearly, Intel Corp Company decisively decided to let the project go down so as to avoid greater expenditure.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.
Back to the Top

下载App
扫码立即下载
  • 下载App

    扫码立即下载

  • 在线客服

    登录后咨询在线客服
+
恭喜您!
成功领取价值超 5000港元/年的高级行情
前往体验 >>

什么是沉没成本?

3343人 学过2022.06.16

要点概览

  • 沉没成本是指已经发生且无法收回的成本。

  • 沉没成本不会影响当前行为或未来决策,投资决策时理性的决策者应排除沉没成本的干扰。

  • 沉没成本谬误是指人们因为损失憎恶心理,在做决策时将沉没成本纳入考虑的现象。

概念详解

沉没成本是指已发生或承诺、无法透过任何方式回收的成本支出。沉没成本是一种历史成本,对现有决策而言是不可控成本,不会影响当前行为或未来决策。从这个意义上说,在投资决策时理性的决策者应排除沉没成本的干扰,仅应考虑可变成本(与特定决策相关且将根据该决策而变化的成本)。

沉没成本可以是固定成本,也可能是变动成本。企业在撤消某个部门或是停止某种产品生产时,沉没成本中通常既包括机器设备等固定成本,也包括原材料、零部件等变动成本。通常情况下,固定成本比变动成本更容易沉没。

沉没成本可以是整体成本,也可以是部分成本。例如中途弃用的机器设备,如果能变卖出售获得部分价值,那么其账面价值不会全部沉没,只有变现价值低于账面价值的部分才是沉没成本。

2001年诺贝尔经济学奖获得者之一的美国经济学家斯蒂格利茨还用一个生活中的例子来说明什么是沉没成本。他说,「假如你花7美元买了一张电影票,你怀疑这个电影是否值7美元。看了半个小时后,你最担心的事被证实了:影片糟透了。你应该离开影院吗?

在做这个决定时,你应当忽视那7美元。它是沉没成本,无论你离开影院与否,钱都不会再收回。」然而,很多人会强迫自己看一场根本不想看的电影,因为他们怕浪费了买票的钱,这种现象被称为「沉没成本谬误」。这种对「浪费」资源担忧害怕的心理,被称为「损失憎恶」。

沉没成本的典型案例

上世纪60年代,英法两国联手研发大型超音速民航客机(协和客机)。研发进入半途,参与其中的很多专家已经意识到这个项目非常烧钱且没有太大的经济效益,但碍于前期已经投入的资源,两国政府最终都没有脱身该项目,并且继续又砸进去更多的银子(据说总费用超预算8倍)。协和客机最终被研发出来了,但是根本没有竞争力,最后草草收场(前后总共才只有16架投入民航运营)。因为协和客机的例子非常典型,所以「沉没成本谬误」有时候也称为「协和效应」。

而与上面的例子相反,英特尔公司2000年12月决定取消整个Timna芯片生产线就是理性地忽略了沉没成本。Timna是英特尔公司专为低端PC设计的整合型芯片。当初在上这个项目的时候,公司认为今后计算机减少成本将通过高度集成(整合型)的设计来实现。可后来,PC市场发生了很大变化,PC制造商通过其他系统成本降低方法,已经达到了目标。英特尔公司看清了这点后,果断决定让项目下马,从而避免更大的支出。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。