[Passive Income 2024] How to Get Passive Income in Hong Kong

Views 7419May 22, 2024

What is Passive Income?

Passive income refers to continuous income without directly engaging in work, providing services, or exchanging time and labor. But it does not mean that you do not have work or effort at all, but generally invest a certain amount of time and resources early on in creating and managing the corresponding investment or asset. Passive income has the advantage of being able to generate a stable income for individuals, without exchanging income for labor time, giving people more time and space to do what they want, while also helping to achieve financial freedom.

Products that typically generate passive income include:Bank Term Deposit, hedge currency,Bonds and Bond Funds,gold, andFutu CashThe products included mainly invest in highly secure currency instruments such as short-term government bonds, bank term deposits, and can also bring you relatively stable passive income.

If you want a steady passive income, Futu Cash is one of the options to consider.

directories

Access Passive Income Method 1 - HKD Fixed Deposit

How to Obtain Passive Income 2-Futu Cash

Obtaining Passive Income Method 3 - Bonds

How to Obtain Passive Income 4 - Dividend Stock Portfolio

Access Passive Income Method 1 - HKD Fixed Deposit

A term deposit is a financial product that is usually offered by banks and is supported by different currencies such as HKD, USD, etc. It is a way of saving money by depositing your funds into a regular account opened by the bank and agreeing to keep the funds inactive for a certain period of time (known as a deposit term). Usually deposit periods are 7 days, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, depending on your needs. And during this time, the amount of the deposit will receive the agreed interest. When the deposit period ends, you can withdraw the principal and accrued interest.

However, if there is a sudden lack of cash flow during the period and you want to withdraw money in advance, interest will be lost and you will have to pay a penalty or processing fee. Time deposits are a relatively safe way to invest, with the Hong Kong Deposit Protection Scheme securing up to HK$50 million for each depositor's funds at each member bank.

But it should be noted that deposit rates can be affected by inflation and other economic factors that may not fully offset the depreciation of funds brought about by inflation.

To summarize: Regular deposits have the following advantages and disadvantages:

  • Fixed interest rate

Time deposits usually offer a fixed interest rate, which means you can determine your return over the deposit term. This helps you make accurate financial planning and know how much interest you will get.

  • Safe and Godless

Time deposits are a simple and easy to understand financial product. You simply deposit money into the bank, agree on the deposit term and interest rate, and then wait for the deposit to expire to withdraw the principal and interest, without keeping an eye on the market for a long time.

  • Low risk

Compared to other investment options, such as stocks or bonds, term deposits are a less risky way to save. Your deposit amount is usually protected by a deposit insurance plan, which means that deposits of 50 million or less can be protected even if the bank runs into trouble.

  • Low liquidity

Due to the nature of regular deposits, your funds are fixed for the duration of the deposit and cannot be accessed at any time unless a penalty or processing fee is paid. If you have the opportunity to use these funds in the short term or need to move these funds urgently, a regular deposit may not be the best option.

  • Minimum deposit

Regular bank deposits have a minimum deposit requirement, and the minimum deposit is now HK$10000. For higher interest rates, the minimum deposit requirement will also be higher. Virtual banks may not set minimum deposit requirements.

  • Inflation risk

Fixed interest rates over the term of the deposit may not fully offset the effects of inflation. If the inflation rate is higher than the rate on a fixed deposit, the actual purchasing power of your funds may decrease.

Extended Reading: 2024 Latest Bank Fixed Deposit Rate Comparison

How to Obtain Passive Income 2-Futu Cash

Futu Cash will come to life and help you turn your money into profit. Cash is the benchmark for the FDI brand. The main investment of FDI funds under the Commodity Commodity brand is in short-term government bonds and money instruments with high security equal to bank term deposits. The investment period is highly stable, suitable for all types of investors such as hedge investors.

Futu Cash Benefit

  • Low thresholds

Subscriptions as low as HK$0.01 can be purchased even with $100.

  • High flexibility

You can buy or withdraw money at any time according to your cash flow needs, or trade at any time.

  • Ideal and stable returns

USD Currency Fund 5% Average Return* +5% Account Opening Reward^

Example: Invite you to participate in the Futui Cash Fund and invest HKD$10,000, with a term limit of 365 days (one year, with an annual interest rate of 5% average return of USD FX fund*+5% open-ended bonus). Without withdrawal, according to the above formula, the profit is calculated as follows: First year earnings= 10,000 × 0.1 × 365/365 = HKD$1000

Your cash pile will have the chance to earn HKD$1000 after a year.

*5% of all USD currency funds return on average earnings per year from Futu, data up to 22 January 2024. Historical earnings are for reference only, and the past performance of the fund cannot be predicted after the date.

^5% Opener Rewards are applicable to all funds on the Futu platform and cannot be shared with other new customer event rewards, subject to terms and conditions.

⁃ 10% is made up of 5% average return+5% limited-time account opening bonus.

  • 0 Redemption Fee

The Global Fund is commission-free and the net account value is the real return on investment after the management fee is deducted.

  • Set up an automatic redemption mechanism

Futu Cash has set up automatic application function, the system will automatically buy cash from your securities account daily after the market is placed. At the same time, the money fund assets will be counted in the purchase of securities that can be used directly for stock trading, purchase new shares (without financial gain) and purchase non-cash fund account assets Living WagesAutomatic RedemptionThe same market currency fund does not need to be redeemed manually to pay off debts.

Extended Reading: Futu Cash, USD FX Fund Average Returns 5%
Futu Cash Treasure
Futu Cash Treasure

In general, money market funds are more secure, but in extreme situations, such as a default on short-term notes purchased by the fund company, a sudden rise in interest rates, a runaway bond price, a market panic redemption, etc., there can be losses for investors.

Obtaining Passive Income Method 3 - Bonds

Bonds are financial notes issued by issuers to raise funds, which promise to pay interest at a set interest rate within a specified period of time and return principal on the maturity date. As an investment instrument with a long history, bonds have long been favored by investors of all kinds due to their characteristics of regular interest payments and maturity returns. Sovereign bonds issued by countries or governments in particular are known for their high security. As a Hong Kong investor, the bonds that are more easily accessible are probably Treasury securities issued by the US government.

U.S. Treasury Bonds, also known as U.S. Bonds, are long-term debt instruments issued by the United States government to coordinate funds to support other operations and debt relief. These national securities are primarily issued by a wide range of investors including large institutions and individual investors, and enjoy high circulation and liquidity in the global financial markets. Due to their stability and safety characteristics, US Treasuries are often considered to be one of the preferred investment tools in risk management strategies. Provided by FutuUS bonds of different maturitiesTo meet investors' goal of obtaining stable dividends.

What are the benefits of buying US bonds?

  • Security

Since US debt is issued by the US government, it is essentially a guarantee of creditworthiness and debt repayment capacity.

  • Fixed Returns

As a result, US bonds are generally regarded as “non-defaulting” bonds and have the reputation of being one of the safest investment instruments in the world.

  • Higher liquidity

U.S. Debt provides fixed returns to investors, so investors can earn stable interest income after buying U.S. Debt.

  • Balancing Risks

US Treasury bonds have higher liquidity relative to other types of bonds. By purchasing high-risk products at the same time as buying US bonds, US bonds can play the role of balancing risk and return.

buyUS DebtWhat are the risks?

However, although the risk of default on US bonds is lower, we do not rule out the possibility of it happening. In addition to this, there are:

  • Interest Rate Risk

    Bond prices and interest rates are inversely proportional. That is, the lower the interest rate, the higher the price of the bond; on the contrary, the higher the interest rate, the lower the price of the bond. Investors tend to deposit money in banks. The attractiveness of the bonds decreases, which leads to a drop in market prices, and investors who have already taken up bonds may incur losses.

  • Exchange Rate Risk

    But when you buy overseas bonds, there is exchange rate risk.

Extended Reading: How to Buy US Debt in Hong Kong
Invest in US bonds
Invest in US bonds

How to Obtain Passive Income 4 - Dividend Stock Portfolio

“Dog stocks” is an income stock investment strategy devised by Michael B. O'Higgins in 1991, specifically for investors seeking dividend income. The strategy is intuitive: pick 10 stocks with the highest dividend yield from the Dow Jones Industrial Average, buy at the start of each year, and sell at the end of the year.

IN 2022, WHEN THE US STOCK MARKET IS NOT PERFORMING WELL, THE COMBINATION OF THE CHANNEL DOG STRATEGY WAS BRIGHT, WITH THE HEX RISING BY 2.2%, WHILE THE S&P 500 AND NASDAQ FELL BY 8.8%, AND THE S&P 500 AND NASDAQ FELL BY MORE THAN 10%. This shows that when the market is volatile, the portfolio of investments that seek dividend income can be a safe haven for investors. Futu provides 5x24 hoursUS Stock Trading.

The strategy is suitable for investors with lower risk tolerance, who prefer stable dividend income, but still expect some capital gains.

Although it sounds solid, there is still the possibility of causing losses, such as stopping dividends at any time, earning price erosion, etc.

What is the principle of Dog Stock Income Combination?

The core idea behind Dog Stock Strategy is to focus on the dividend yield, using it as a key indicator to assess the value of stocks. A high dividend yield often means that the stock price may be undervalued, offering the potential for earnings that exceed the average level of the majors.

This principle is based on the fact that the 30 components of the Dow Jones index are generally well-chosen large, experienced blue-chip stocks with good financial conditions and billions of dollars in market capitalization, and a solid earnings record.

These companies tend to have a long dividend history and are not easy to change their dividend policy, so dividend stability is high. However, their share prices may still be affected by the overall market environment and economic cycle. When a company is at a low ebb in a business cycle, its stock price tends to fall below the peak period.

Therefore, those stocks with high dividend yields may represent a company that is currently at the bottom of its business cycle, with share prices already relatively low, providing an attractive entry point for investors to look forward to future value-adding opportunities.

Extended Reading: 2024 Premium Income Stock Picking Strategy
US Equity Income Shares
US Equity Income Shares

ATTENTION:

This content does not constitute any solicitation, solicitation, recommendation, opinion or warranty of any securities, financial products or instruments. Investments involve risks and investors should carefully read the Fund's information and related documentation (including its risk factors). Investors should be aware that the price of the Fund's products can rise and fall, which can change significantly over a short period of time. Investors may not be able to withdraw the amount invested in the Fund, and the Fund's past performance cannot predict future performance.

If similar forward-looking statements are contained herein, such contents or statements shall not be construed as guarantees of any future performance, and it should be noted that actual circumstances or developments may differ materially from those statements. The principal and interest on the bond are repaid by the issuer or guarantor (if any) and the bondholder bears the credit risk of the issuer or guarantor. If the issuer or guarantor fails to fulfill the contract, the bondholder may not be able to recover principal and interest on the invested bond. U.S. GOVERNMENT BONDS ARE ISSUED AND GUARANTEED BY THE U.S. GOVERNMENT AND ARE TRADED OFF-SITE. Investing involves risk, the price of which is influenced by market supply and demand relationships. While there is a higher chance of recouping principal and interest on invested US government bonds, bondholders who redeem bonds early may incur losses due to market risks. The US government is less likely to default on debt principal and interest, but changes in its financial condition and credit rating also have the potential to lead to default.

Therefore, before making any investment decision, clients should carefully read the relevant sales documents, fully understand their risks and the characteristics and consequences of the relevant laws, taxes and accounting, and decide, depending on the individual's circumstances, whether the investment meets the individual's financial situation and investment objectives and whether they can bear the risks involved. Appropriate professional advice should be sought at times.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

【被动收入2024】在香港获取被动收入的方法

1641人 学过2024.02.22

什么是被动收入?

被动收入是指不用直接参与工作、提供服务或交换时间和劳动,都能持续获得收入但不代表您是完全没有工作或努力,而是一般在早期投入一定的时间和资源来建立和管理相应的投资或资产。被动收入的优点在于能够为个人创造稳定的收入,而且不用透过劳动时间换取收入,变相人们可以腾出更多时间及空间去做自己想做的事,同时亦有助实现财务自由。

一般能获取被动收入的产品包括:银行定期存款避险货币债券及债券基金黄金,而富途现金寳囊括的产品主要投资政府短期债券、银行定期存款等安全性较高的货币工具,也能够为您带来相对稳定的被动收入。

如果你都想有稳定的被动收入,富途现金寳也是其中一个可以考虑的选择之一。

目录

获取被动收入方法1--港元定期存款

获取被动收入方法2--富途现金宝

获取被动收入方法3--债券

获取被动收入方法4--收息股组合

获取被动收入方法1--港元定期存款

定期存款是一种金融产品,通常由银行提供,并支援不同货币如港元美元等。它是一种储蓄方式,将您的一笔资金存入银行开设的定期帐户内,并同意在特定的时间内(称为存款期限)不动用该笔款项,常见存款期限有7日、1个月、3个月、6个月、1年等,视乎你的需要而定。而这段时间内,存款金额会获得约定的利息。当存款期限完结,您就可以取回本金及累积所得的利息。

不过,若期间突然缺乏现金流,想提前提款的话,则会失去利息且需要支付罚金或手续费。定期存款是一种相对安全的投资方式,香港存款保障计划为每位存款人在每间成员银行的资金提供最多50万港元保障。

但需要注意的是,存款利率可能会受到通胀和其他经济因素的影响,可能无法完全抵消通胀带来的资金贬值。

总括来说:定期存款有以下的优点缺点

  • 固定利率

定期存款通常提供固定的利率,这意味著您可以在存款期限内确定您的回报。这有助于您做出准确的财务规划,并知道您将获得多少利息。

  • 安全且不费神

定期存款是一种简单易懂的金融产品。您只需将金钱存入银行,同意存款期限和利率,然后等待存款期满即可取回本金和利息,不用长期长时间留意市况。

  • 低风险

相对于其他投资选择,如股票或债券,定期存款是一种较低风险的储蓄方式。您的存款金额通常由存款保险计划保护,这意味著即使银行遇到困难,50万或以下的存款也可以得到保护。

  • 低流动性

由于定期存款的特性,您的资金在存款期限内是固定的,无法随时取用,除非支付罚金或手续费。如果您有机会需要在短期内或需紧急动用这些资金,定期存款可能不是最理想的选择。

  • 最低存款额

银行一般的定期存款都设有最低存款额要求,现时普遍最低存款额为港币$10000。若想获得更高利息,最低存款额的要求亦会更高。而虚拟银行则可能不设置最低存款额要求。

  • 通胀风险

存款期限内的固定利率可能无法完全抵消通胀的影响。如果通胀率高于定期存款的利率,您的资金的实际购买力可能会下降。

延伸阅读: 2024最新银行定期存款利率比较

获取被动收入方法2--富途现金宝

富途现金宝灵活又赚到,帮你将闲钱变收益。现金宝是富途货币基金品牌的统称,现金宝品牌底下的货币基金主要投资于政府短期债券、银行定期存款等安全性较高的货币工具,投资期相对较短且稳定性较高,适合所有类型的投资者,尤其是保守型投资者。

富途现金宝好处

  • 低门槛

认购低至港币$0.01,即使$100都买得到。

  • 灵活弹性高

你可以按照你的现金流需要,随时买入又或随时提钱,亦可以随时交易。

  • 理想及稳定回报

美元货币基金5%平均回报*+5%开户奖赏^

例:假设您在富途参与富途现金寳活动,并投入HKD$10,000,持有期限为365天(一年),年利率为美元货币基金5%平均回报*+5%限时开户奖赏^。在未曾提款下,根据上述公式,收益计算如下:首年收益= 10,000 × 0.1△× 365 / 365 = HKD$1000

您一年后的现金寳将有机会获得HKD$1000的收益。

*5%取自富途所有美元货币基金近一年平均收益回报,数据截至2024年1月22日。历史收益仅供参考,基金的过往表现不能预示日后的表现。

^5%开户奖赏适用于富途平台上的所有基金,与其他新客活动奖赏不可同享,优惠受条款及细则约束。

10%是由5%平均回报+5%限时开户奖赏构成。

  • 0申赎费

全场基金免佣免申赎费,帐户净值为扣除管理费后的投资真实收益。

  • 设自动赎回机制

富途现金寳设自动申赎功能,开通后系统自动在每日收市后将您证券账户里的现金买入货币基金;同时货币基金资产将计入证券购买力可直接用于股票交易认购新股(无融资利息)、买入非货币基金;若账户产生欠款将自动赎回同市场货币基金以偿还欠款,无需手动赎回。

延伸阅读: 富途现金宝,美元货币基金平均回报5%
富途现金宝
富途现金宝

总括而言,货币市场基金安全性较高,但当遇到极端情况,如基金公司购买的短期票据违约、利率突然大幅上升而令债券价格暴泻、市场恐慌性赎回等,还是会为投资者带来损失。

获取被动收入方法3--债券

债券是发行者为了募集资金所发行的金融票证,承诺于特定时间内支付既定利率的利息,并于到期日返还本金。作为一种悠久历史的投资工具,债券因其定期付息及到期返本的特性,长久以来广受各类投资者的青睐。特别是由国家或政府所发行的主权债券,以其较高的安全性而闻名。作为香港投资者,比较容易接触到的债券大概是由美国政府发行的国库券。

美国国债(U.S. Treasury Bond,也称美债)是美国政府为了筹资以支持其运作和偿还债务而发行的一种长期负债工具。这些国库券主要针对包括大型机构和个人投资者在内的多种投资者发行,并在全球金融市场中享有高度流通性和卓越的信誉。因其稳健和安全的特性,美国国库券常被视作风险管理策略中的首选投资工具之一。富途亦提供提供不同期限的美债,满足投资者获取稳定派息的目标。

买美债有什么好处?

  • 安全性

由于美债是由美国政府发债,所以基本上具有信誉及偿还债务能力的保障。

  • 固定回报

因此,美债一般被视为「不会违约」的债券,有全球最安全投资工具之一的称誉。

  • 较高流动性

美债能为投资者提供固定回报,故投资者购买美债后,便可获稳定的利息收入。

  • 平衡风险

相对其他类型的债券,美国国债流动性较高。若购买高风险产品同时购买美债,美债则可发挥平衡风险及回报的作用。

买美债有什么风险?

不过,虽然美债的违约风险较低,但也不排除有机会会发生。除此之外,还有:

  • 利率风险

    债券价格与利率是成反比的。即利率越低,债券价格就越高;相反,利率越高,债券价格就越低,变相投资人都会倾向将钱存入银行,债券吸引力会下降,从而导致市价下降,已入手债券的投资者或会造成损失。

  • 汇率风险

    但凡买海外债券,都会存在汇率风险。

延伸阅读: 在香港如何买美债
投资美债
投资美债

获取被动收入方法4--收息股组合

"道指狗股"是一种收息股投资策略,由Michael B. O’Higgins于1991年提出,专门针对追求股息收入的投资者。这套策略的操作十分直观:从道琼斯工业平均指数(Dow Jones Industrial Average)中挑选出十支股息收益率最高的股票,在每年的开始购入,并于年末卖出。

在2022年,当美股整体表现不佳时,采用道指狗股策略的组合却有亮眼表现,整体上涨了2.2%,而相较下,道琼斯工业平均指数下降了8.8%,S&P 500和NASDAQ指数的跌幅更是超过了10%。这显示了在市场不稳定时,追求股息收入的投资组合可以作为投资者的避风港。富途亦提供提供独家5x24小时美股交易

该策略适合对风险承受度较低、偏好稳定股息收入,但仍期望获得一定资本增值的投资者。

虽然听起来稳健,不过还是会有导致损失的可能性,例如,可能随时停止派息、赚息蚀价等。

狗股收息组合的原理是什么?

道指狗股策略的核心思想是专注于股息收益率,将它作为评估股票价值的一个关键指标。高股息率通常意味著股价可能被低估,提供了超越大盘平均水平的收益潜力。

这个原理建立在这样一个事实上:道琼斯指数的30支成分股普遍是精心挑选的大型、资历深的蓝筹股,具有良好的财务状况和数十亿美元的市值,以及稳定的盈利记录。

这些公司往往有著长期的派息历史,且不易改变其派息政策,因此派息的稳定性高。然而,它们的股价仍可能受到整体市场环境和经济周期的影响。当公司处于商业周期的低潮时,其股价往往会低于高峰时期。

因此,那些具有高股息率的股票可能代表了公司目前正处于业务周期的谷底,股价已经相对较低,为投资者提供了一个吸引人的进入点,以期待未来的增值机会。

延伸阅读: 2024优质收息股票挑选策略
美股收息股
美股收息股

注意:

本内容不构成任何证券、金融产品或工具邀约、招揽、建议、意见或任何保证。投资涉及风险,投资者应仔细阅读基金资讯及相关文件(包括其风险因素)。 敬请投资者注意,基金产品的价格可升亦可跌,可能在短时间内大幅变动,投资者或无法取回其投资于基金的金额,基金过往的表现不能预示日后的表现。

本内容中如有类似前瞻性陈述之内容,此等内容或陈述不得视为对任何将来表现之保证,且应注意实际情况或发展可能与该等陈述有重大落差。债券的本金和利息是由发行人或担保人(如有)去偿还,债券持有人须承担发行人或担保人的信贷风险。如果发行人或担保人不履行契约,债券持有人可能无法取回投资债券的本金和利息。美国政府债券由美国政府发行和保证,债券交易会在场外进行。投资涉及风险,其价格会受到市场供求关系的影响。虽然有较高机会取回投资美国政府债券的本金和利息,债券持有人提前赎回债券可能会因市场风险而导致损失。美国政府拖欠债券本金和利息的可能性较低,但其财政状况及信用评级的改变亦有机会引致违约的风险。

因此,在作出任何投资决策前,客户应仔细阅读相关销售文件, 完全了解其风险以及有关法律、赋税及会计的特点及后果,并根据个人的情况决定投资是否切合个人的财政状况及投资目标,以及能否承受有关风险,必要时应寻求适当的专业意见。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐