The investment philosophy of the gurus

Views 32KMar 8, 2024

Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling

I read the news early this morning: Charlie Munger passed away on Tuesday (November 28) local time at the age of 99, just one month until his 100th birthday.

Since then, the world has lost a legendary investor, a wise elderly person, and a lifelong learner who loves to read.

Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling -1

While mourning, I also seem to have developed some connections and expectations in my heart. Perhaps “death is not the end; forgetting is; the real death is when no one in the world remembers you”, and the wise Charlie Munger will definitely be remembered by people for a long time.

The wise man behind the light

When it comes to Charlie Munger, it seems like everyone associates themselves with Buffett. If Buffett is someone standing under a magnesium lamp, then Charlie Munger is the wise man behind that light.

One very classic scene is the interaction between Buffett and Munger at the Berkshire annual meeting. Buffett often asks Munger after speaking, “Would you like to say a few words?” Munger's classic answer is, “I have nothing to add.”

So much so that later, when Munger didn't come, Buffett made a cardboard with a picture of Munger printed on it. After speaking, Buffett looked back and asked, “Do you have anything to say?” Buffett then pressed the recorder himself, and a voice came from the recorder: “I have nothing to add.”

Munger always seems to have been by Buffett's side for over 60 years in this relatively behind-the-scenes character. But as Buffett said in his statement: “Berkshire Hathaway would not have been where he is today without Charlie Munger's inspiration, wisdom, and participation.” Buffett also said, “Berkshire was 'built according to Charlie's blueprint'.”

As can be seen, although Munger's contribution to Berkshire may not be that obvious, it must have been a major contributor. Buffett was also persuaded by Munger to abandon pure value investing (buying average or good companies at cheap prices) and instead buy excellent companies at higher valuations. Buffett and Munger, the golden pair, set the best investment record in history. Over the past 30 years, Berkshire's stock has risen 165 times.

Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling -2

The fact that Buffett chose Munger as his partner is also enough to show Munger's wisdom. Buffett had a few conditions when choosing a partner: he must be smarter and more intelligent than himself; be able to praise Buffett's achievements and accept Buffett's mistakes; be a generous person, invest his own money, work hard regardless of reward; be able to travel together for a long time and bring happiness, which makes Buffett inexhaustible.

It seems like a very demanding condition, but in Buffett's opinion, Munger meets these requirements. Furthermore, Buffett believes that only Munger fits!

Smart old people also have a cute side

In fact, Munger's wisdom isn't just reflected in his investments. If you've listened to his speeches, talked to him, or read related text or video recordings, you probably have a similar feeling: I think he is not only a big investor, but also a wise man and philosopher.

Bill Gates once said, “He really is the most profound thinker I've ever met. From the principles of doing business to the laws of economics, from the design of student dormitories to the design of yachts, he has no rival.”

Where did Munger's wisdom come from? Perhaps in addition to his natural traits and rich life experiences, he also received a lot of nourishment from books. Munger loves to read, and there's a prime example. When Munger dates her friends, she usually arrives early and then sits down and reads a book. If friends also arrive early, Munger doesn't pay attention to their friends, but instead continues to read books until the agreed time is up, and doesn't start talking to them on time.

His son David Boswick once described his father like this: “Night after night, he always sits in his beloved chair, studying something, and deaf to the noise of the kids around him, the noise of the television, and the sound of his mom shouting at him for dinner. “Even when he's not reading, Dad often falls into contemplation while driving Molly and Wendy to Pasadena. Had it not been for Mom to loudly remind him of the correct freeway exit, he would have driven to San Bernardino.”

For Munger, success in investing is probably just a way of life where he insists on lifelong learning and putting results into practice. He believes that “real value investing starts at age 40,” because the accumulation of knowledge, experience, and wealth at a young age may not be enough for us to understand the principles of value investing and actually engage in value investing.

What's even more rare is that behind Munger's wisdom and persistence, she often reveals a different kind of humor and cuteness!

Buffett once told a story. He and Munger went to New York to attend the board of directors of Solomon Brothers. They walked out of this building and talked on the sidewalk, but suddenly he found himself talking to himself. He discovered that Munger had already climbed a taxi and went straight to the airport without saying goodbye. It seems that in Munger's world, he can't see certain things; he always has things he is more concerned about.

Munger also often makes people think it's very interesting when describing some things. For example, he called Bitcoin a “rat poison,” and compared trading cryptocurrencies to a “transaction dung.” When discussing the intelligence of future generations, he said it was like buying a “genetic lottery.” Speaking of venture capitalists, he called them “not even as good as people who play the piano in.”

Munger, who is not afraid to speak the truth bluntly, may make people around him feel cheerful and funny. But it is probably because of this characteristic that he was so successful.

Face the end of life with confidence

Following Munger's death, Berkshire's statement read: Munger's family advised that Munger passed away peacefully at a California hospital on Tuesday morning. One can't help but imagine how he spent his last days.

Although Munger's life has been very successful in our opinion at the moment, in reality he has also gone through a rather miserable period in his life.

Munger, who loves to read, actually had dyslexia as a child. He was also sent to work in Alaska, which is close to the Arctic and is extremely cold. He is shrouded in darkness and has been numbingly doing the job of a weatherman he doesn't like all day long. He enjoys missing his wife and children and playing bridge cards. He was also attacked by college bullies at Caltech. He felt that he would never be able to compete with those physics professors, didn't have a bachelor's degree, and ended up walking through the back door to Harvard.

He had problems with his marriage, and his daughter said, “Even blind people can see they are unhappy” and “there is no couple in the world who are more unfit than them.” Shortly after the divorce, my beloved son contracted leukemia again, and in the end, it didn't save my son's life. On the streets of Pasadena, he walked and cried.

However, as we all know later, his career was very successful. Apart from Berkshire, which he co-managed with Buffett, he also held important positions in other companies. For example, Daily Journal, which he bought in 1977 and became its chairman. From 1987 to now, the company's stock trend has been excellent. As of November 28, 2023, the stock price has risen from around $10 to $317, an increase of 30 times.

Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling -3

Of course, his success was not limited to his investment or career. In life, he likes to fish, play cards, and golf. He designs his own house and yacht. He has a wonderful friendship, marriage, and family. Out of love for his wife, he donated all the schools and places where he worked. Each donation was millions or tens of millions of dollars. And his investment philosophy and wisdom in life have been praised over and over again by the world.

Life has reached the point where he is still one month away from the age of 100, which may be a bit disappointing in terms of time, but I believe that for Munger, the life he experienced was not unfortunate.

Munger once said at a conference that once you have reached a certain level of success in life, your main goal should be not to mess things up. He also said, “The best protective armor for old age is a period of time spent carefully before it.”

People are about to die, and they may evaluate the life they have spent. If you are satisfied with yourself, you may be able to reach the end of your life without regret or guilt. Perhaps Munger has already obtained this set of armor and has reached the end of his life without regret.

Let wisdom continue to shine

But as I said at the beginning of today, death isn't really the end. Just like the last words Munger said at the University of Southern California graduation ceremony, “My sword is passed on to those who can wield it,” if we can practice Munger's wisdom in our investments and lives, then his wisdom and life will continue to shine.

Munger's wisdom can't be summarized in a simple article, but I've organized it a little bit here, and I hope to encourage everyone.

1. Keep learning for a lifetime

There is no need to say more about this one.

Munger said at the University of Southern California graduation ceremony that gaining wisdom is a moral responsibility; you must stick to lifelong learning, otherwise you won't be able to get far in life. He also said that people can master many fields as long as they master and keep applying all the obvious and easy to learn principles.

2. Building a model for multiple thinking

The multivariate mindset model is highly recommended by Munger.

Someone once said, “If we try to understand something that seems to exist independently, we'll discover that it is connected to everything else in the universe.” Munger believes that a single discipline provides a single solution; this kind of singularity is insufficient when faced with a complex world. It is like “the world looks like a nail in the eyes of a person with a hammer”, so it is necessary to be able to skillfully use multiple ways of thinking from different disciplines.

These subjects include economics, psychology, mathematics, engineering, biology, physics, chemistry, statistics, etc. He believes that we don't need to know everything; we just need to absorb the most outstanding ideas in each subject. You need to know how they influence each other, otherwise you won't be able to play your cards well.

For example, you need to master mathematics, be able to handle numbers and quantity problems, know the principles of compound interest, and master the basic principles of arrangement and combination. You must master accounting and have sufficient understanding of it, so that you can also understand its limitations.

If you want to have universal wisdom, psychology is too important. How human sensory organs, cognitive functions, etc. work, how they can be misled, etc., all of this information is very important. He also mentioned more than 20 principles of misjudging psychology. In the book “Poor Charlie's Collection,” you can read more if you are interested.

Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling -4
Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling -5

(Picture from “Poor Charlie's Collection”)

He himself has a habit of two-track analysis. While rationally looking at what factors actually control the interests involved, he also notices what subconscious factors the brain automatically forms.

3. Draw out your circle of abilities

The circle of ability is also a concept that Munger values very much.

He said, “You have to figure out what your skills are. If you're going to play games that others play so well that you don't know anything about, then you're bound to lose. That is definitely something that must be said. You have to figure out where your strengths lie, and you have to compete within your circle of ability.”

Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling -6

In investing, he will go through a very comprehensive screening to select mainstream industries that not only have room for development and competitive advantage, but are also easy to understand, and fall within his circle of competence. In this process, he will make a very detailed assessment, taking into account internal and external factors and the state of the industry in which the company is located.

4. Investment Principles Checklist

Munger also has a list of principles when it comes to investing.

This list includes measuring risk, thinking independently, being prepared, being humble, rigorously analyzing, properly configuring, being patient, having determination, learning to change, and staying focused.

For example, in terms of measuring risk, he believes it is necessary to measure credit risk, measure safety margins, avoid trading with people with moral quality problems, demand appropriate compensation for predetermined risks, always remember the risks of inflation and interest rates, avoid making big mistakes, etc.

Preparation includes extensive reading, developing curiosity, proficiency in the thinking models of various university subjects, etc.

And being humble is not only about admitting one's ignorance; it is also about acting within the circle of ability, resisting the desire to pursue fictitious accuracy and false certainty, and remember that you are the most likely to be fooled by yourself.

He believes, “Wise people can wait patiently, let time pass, and experience the beauty of it. Most people are always blind and busy.” His own example is: “I read Barron's and I've been reading it for 50 years. For 50 years, I've only found one investment opportunity. Through this opportunity, I made $80 million with almost no risk.”

Charlie Munger: The wise man behind the light, the shimmer is just as dazzling -7

Munger's wisdom goes far beyond what has been said above. Maybe one day, when we encounter a specific situation in our investments or life, we will suddenly remember what kind of words this wise old man once said, and at that moment, the impact happened.

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

大师们的投资理念

3.2万人 学过2024/03/08

查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼

今天一早看到消息:查理·芒格于当地时间周二(11月28日)去世,享年99岁,距离他的100岁生日只有一个月。

从此,人间少了一位传奇的投资大佬,少了一位满身智慧的老人,也少了一位热爱阅读的终身学习者。

查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼 -1

哀悼的同时,似乎也在心中产生了一些联结和期望。或许「死亡不是终点,遗忘才是,真正的死亡是世界上再没有一个人记得你」,而智慧的查理·芒格一定会被人们记很久。

光芒背後的智者

提到查理·芒格,似乎大家都会和巴菲特联系在一起。如果说巴菲特是站在镁光灯下的人,那查理·芒格就是那个光芒背后的智者。

有一个非常经典的场景,就是巴菲特和芒格在伯克希尔年会上的互动。巴菲特常常在讲完话后询问芒格:「你要不要说两句?」芒格经典的回答是:「我没有什么好补充的。」

以至于后来有一次,芒格有事没来,巴菲特就做了一个印有芒格照片的纸板。巴菲特讲完后回头问:「你有什么要说的吗?」然后巴菲特自己去按那个录音机,录音机里传来声音:「我没有什么好补充的。」

芒格似乎总是以这样一个相对幕后的角色,60多年来陪伴在巴菲特身边。但就像巴菲特在声明中说的:「如果没有查理·芒格的灵感、智慧和参与,伯克希尔·哈撒韦就不可能发展到现在的地位。」巴菲特也曾经表示,「伯克希尔『是按照查理的蓝图建立起来的』」。

可见,虽然芒格对伯克希尔的贡献或许并不那么外显,但一定是功不可没的。巴菲特也正是在芒格的劝说下,开始放弃纯粹的价值投资(以便宜的价格购买一般或良好的企业),转而以更高的估值购买优秀的企业。巴菲特与芒格这对黄金搭档创造了历史以来最优秀的投资记录,在过去三十几年里,伯克希尔的股票涨幅高达165倍。

查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼 -2

从巴菲特选择芒格作为搭档这件事上,也足以显现芒格的智慧。巴菲特在选择合伙人时有一些条件:要比自己更聪明更智慧,能不人云亦云、有极强的逻辑推理能力,能赞扬巴菲特的成就和接纳巴菲特的错误,是一个慷慨大方的人、投入自己的钱、努力工作而不计报酬,能在漫漫长路上结伴同游还能带来快乐,能让巴菲特感激不尽。

看起来是非常苛刻的条件了,但在巴菲特看来,芒格是符合这些要求的。并且,巴菲特认为,只有芒格一人符合!

智慧老人也有可爱一面

实际上,芒格的智慧并不仅仅体现在他的投资中。如果曾听过他的演讲、与之交谈过或是看过相关的文字、视频记录,可能会有一个相似的感受:觉得他不仅是一位投资大佬,更是一位智者和哲人。

比尔盖茨曾经表示:「他确实是我遇到过的最渊博的思想家。从经商原则到经济规律,从学生宿舍的设计到游艇的设计,他都没有对手。」

芒格的智慧从何而来呢?或许除了天生自带的特质、丰富的人生经历之外,他也从书籍中获得了很多滋养。芒格非常喜欢阅读,有一个典型的例子。芒格和朋友约会时,通常会提前到,然后坐在那里看书。如果朋友也提前到了,芒格并不会理会朋友,而是继续看书,直到约定的时间到了,才准时地开始和朋友说话。

儿子戴维·博斯韦克曾经这样描述自己的父亲:「夜复一夜,他总是坐在心爱的椅子上,研读某些东西,充耳不闻身边孩子们的打闹、电视机的喧哗和妈妈喊他吃饭的声音。即使不在阅读,爸爸在开车送莫莉和温蒂去帕萨迪纳的途中也常常陷入沉思,要不是妈妈大声提醒他正确的高速公路出口,他就会把车开到圣伯纳蒂诺。」

对芒格来说,投资方面的成功,或许只是他坚持终身学习并把成果付诸实践的一种生活方式。他认为「真正的价值投资要从40岁开始」,因为年轻时知识、阅历、财富的积累或许不足以让我们了解价值投资的道理以及真正从事价值投资。

更加难得的是,芒格的智慧和坚持背后,常常透露着一种别样的幽默和可爱!

巴菲特曾经讲过一个故事。他和芒格去纽约参加所罗门兄弟公司的董事会,他们走出这个大楼在人行道上交谈着,但突然间他发现自己在自说自话,发现芒格已经爬上一辆的士、直接去机场了,没有任何的道别。似乎在芒格的世界里,他看不到某些事情,他总有自己更关注的事情。

芒格在描述一些事物的时候,也常常让人觉得很有趣。比如说:他把比特币称为「老鼠药」,把交易加密货币比作「交易粪坨」。他在讨论后代智力时,会说那就像购买「基因彩票」。说起那些风险投资家时,他称他们为「连在里弹钢琴的人都不如」。

不惧怕直言真相的芒格,可能会让身边的人觉得又好气又好笑。但或许也正是因为这个特点,他才会如此成功。

坦然面对生命的终点

芒格去世后,伯克希尔的声明上写着:芒格的家人告知,芒格于周二上午在加州一家医院平静去世。让人不禁想像,他是如何度过最后的时光的。

尽管目前在我们看来,芒格的人生很成功了,但实际上他也走过了人生比较悲惨的时期。

热爱阅读的芒格其实在小时候是有过阅读障碍的。他也曾被派往靠近北极、极度严寒的阿拉斯加执勤,笼罩在黑暗之中,终日麻木地做着自己不喜欢的气象员的工作,靠思念妻儿和打桥牌为乐。他也曾在加州理工被学霸打击,觉得自己永远竞争不过那些物理学教授,没有学士学位,最后靠走后门去的哈佛。

他的婚姻曾遇到问题,女儿表示「瞎子都看得出来他们不快乐」、「世界上没有比他们更不合拍的夫妻了」。而在离婚之后不久,深爱的儿子又罹患了白血病,最终也没能挽救儿子的生命。在帕萨迪纳的街头,他一边走着,一边痛哭。

但后来的故事我们都知道了,他的事业非常成功,除了和巴菲特共同经营的伯克希尔之外,他还在其他公司担任要职。例如Daily Journal,他在1977年收购了这家公司并担任董事长。从1987年到现在,这家公司的股票走势非常优秀,截至2023年11月28日,股价已经从10美元出头涨到了317美元,涨幅高达30倍。

查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼 -3

当然,他的成功并不局限于投资、事业。在生活中,他喜欢钓鱼、打牌、打高尔夫,会自己设计房子和游艇,他拥有着美好的友情、婚姻和家庭。出于对妻子的爱,他把妻子曾经就读过的学校、工作过的地方都捐赠个遍,一捐就是几百万、上千万美元。而他的投资哲学、人生智慧,也一遍遍被世人传颂着。

生命走到离100岁还差一个月的这个节点,或许从时间的角度来说有一点缺憾,但相信对于芒格来说,他所经历的这一生并不遗憾。

芒格曾在一次会议上说过,一旦你在生活中达到了一定的成功水平,你的主要目标应该是不要搞砸。他也说过:「晚年的最佳保护铠甲是一段在它之前被悉心度过的生活。」。

人之将死,可能会评价自己所度过的一生。如果对自己感到满意,也许就可以不带遗憾和内疚地走向生命的终点。或许,芒格已然获得了这套铠甲,也不带遗憾地走向了生命的终点。

让智慧持续发光

但就像今天开头所说的,死亡并不是真正的终点。就如芒格在南加州大学毕业典礼上说的最后一句话「我的剑传给能挥舞它的人」,如果我们在投资和生活中能够践行芒格的智慧,那么他的智慧和生命也会持续发光。

芒格的智慧无法简单用一篇文章来概述,但这里略做了一点点整理,希望和大家共勉。

1. 保持终身学习

这一条相信不必多说了。

芒格在南加州大学的毕业典礼上说到,获得智慧是一种道德责任,必须坚持终身学习,否则在生活中走不了多远。他也曾表示,人们只要掌握和不停地应用所有明显而且容易学习的原理,就能够精通许许多多的领域。

2. 建立多元思维模型

多元思維模型是芒格非常推崇的。

有人说过,「如果我们试图理解一样看似独立存在的东西,我们将会发现它和宇宙间的其他一切都有联系。」芒格认为,单一学科所提供的解决方案是单一的,这种单一在面对复杂世界时是不足够的,就像「在手里拿着铁锤的人看来,世界就像一颗钉子」,所以要能够熟练运用来自不同学科的多元思维模式。

这些学科包括经济学、心理学、数学、工程学、生物学、物理学、化学、统计学等。他认为,我们不需要了解所有的知识,只要吸取各个学科最杰出的思想就行了。需要知道它们是如何互相影响的,否则无法把牌打好。

例如,要掌握数学,能处理数字和数量的问题,知道复利原理,掌握基本的排列组合原理。要掌握会计学,对它有足够的理解,从而也才能明白它的局限。

如果想拥有普世的智慧,心理学就太过重要了。人类的感知器官、认知功能等是如何运作的,它们会如何受到误导等等,这些信息都非常重要。他还提到了误判心理学的20多个原则,在《穷查理宝典》这本书里,感兴趣的话可以拓展阅读。

查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼 -4
查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼 -5

(图片来自《穷查理宝典》)

他自己有双轨分析的习惯,一边理性地看是哪些因素真正控制了涉及的利益,一边又会觉察大脑会自动形成哪些潜意识因素。

3. 划出自己的能力圈

能力圈也是芒格非常看重的一個概念。

他说,「你们必须弄清楚你们有什么本领。如果你们要玩那些别人玩得很好而你们一窍不通的游戏,那么你们注定会一败涂地。那是必定无疑的事情。你们必须弄清楚自己的优势在哪里,必须在自己的能力圈之内竞争。」

查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼 -6

在投资中,他会通过非常全面的筛选,挑选出不仅是有发展空间和竞争优势的,而且是容易理解的主流行业,落在自己的能力圈范围内。在这个过程中,他会做非常详尽的评估,把企业内外部因素、所处行业情况都考虑在内。

4. 投资原则检查清单

芒格在投资方面,还有一个原则清单。

这个清单里包括测量风险、独立思考、做好准备、保持谦逊、严格分析、正确配置、保持耐心、拥有决心、学会改变、保持专注。

比如说在测量风险这个方面,他认为需要测量信用风险、测算安全边际、避免和道德品质有问题的人交易、为预定的风险要求合适的补偿、永远记住通货膨胀和利率的风险、避免犯下大错等等。

做好准备包括广泛阅读、培养好奇心、熟练掌握各大学科的思维模型等等。

而谦虚不只是承认自己的无知,还要在能力圈内行事、抵制追求虚的精确和错误确定性的欲望,要记住自己是最容易被自己愚弄的人。

他认为「明智的人能耐心等待,让时间流逝,体会其中的妙处。大多数人总是瞎忙活。」他自己的一个例子是:「我读《巴伦周刊》,读了 50 年。整整 50 年,我只找到了一个投资机会。通过这个机会,我在几乎没有任何风险的情况下,赚了8000 万美元。」

查理·芒格:光芒背后的智者,微光也同样耀眼 -7

芒格的智慧远远不止上面所说的这些。或许有一天,当我们在投资或生活中遇到一个具体的场景,会突然想起来,这位智慧的老人曾经说了怎样的一句话,而在那一刻,影响就此发生。

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐