What is foreign exchange trading?

Views 22KAug 9, 2023
https://courseimg.futunn.com/2022090700001855b5d5c9023dd.png

Core points

● foreign exchange trading is the act of buying and selling foreign exchange. Foreign exchange market is the largest financial market in the world.

Currency pairs in ● foreign exchange transactions can be divided into straight, cross and rare trades. The trading volume of straight currency pairs accounts for 85% of the trading volume in the entire foreign exchange market.

● leveraged foreign exchange trading not only magnifies the earnings, but also increases the risk.

● global foreign exchange market can be traded 24 hours a day except Saturday, Sunday, Christmas and New Year's Day.

Detailed explanation of concept

Foreign exchange refers to the means of payment and credit instruments expressed in foreign currencies and used for international settlement. Foreign exchange trading, in short, is the act of buying and selling currencies. Exchange the currency of one country or region for the currency of another country or region, resulting in foreign exchange transactions.

The international foreign exchange trading market is the largest financial market in the world, spread all over the world, and can be divided into three parts: Asia-Pacific region, Europe and North America. The most important ones are London, Frankfurt, Zurich and Paris in Europe, New York and Los Angeles in North America, Sydney, Tokyo, Singapore and Hong Kong in the Asia-Pacific region.

Participants in the foreign exchange market mainly include central banks, commercial banks, non-bank financial institutions, brokers, dealers and large multinational enterprises, with an average daily turnover of more than US $6 trillion. For investors in Hong Kong, they can participate in foreign exchange transactions through institutions such as brokerages.

Currency pairs for foreign exchange transactions

The first step in foreign exchange trading is to choose the currency you want to trade, that is, currency pairs. Because foreign exchange currencies always appear in pairs, such as the pound against the dollar and the euro against the dollar. The currency pair in front of the currency is called the "base currency", and the later currency is called the "relative" or "quoted" currency.

Foreign exchange trading is to speculate whether the base currency will rise or fall in the future relative to the later quoted currency. For example, if you expect the euro to appreciate against the dollar, you will buy euros / dollars, indicating that you have bought euros (and sold dollars at the same time). If you think the euro will depreciate, you will sell the euro (and buy dollars).

Pairwise combinations of various currencies make up many currency pairs, which can be divided into three types.

The first type is the international common currency pair containing the dollar, known as the major currency, also known as "straight", including euro / dollar, pound / dollar, dollar / Canadian dollar, dollar / yen, and so on. The trading volume of direct currency pairs accounts for 85% of the total foreign exchange market trading volume.

The second type is the international common currency pair that does not contain the dollar, which is called "cross trading", such as sterling / yen, yen / Canadian dollar, and so on.

The third type is a currency pair consisting of a major currency and the currency of an emerging economy, called a "rare market", such as the dollar / South African rand.

There will be a difference between the buying price and the selling price in foreign exchange transactions, which is called spread. Take EURUSD as an example, if the selling price is 1.00596 and the buying price is 1.00604, the gap (1.00604-1.00596 = 0.00008) is a spread of 0.8 pips.

For investors, spread is the most basic cost of foreign exchange trading. Generally speaking, the straight trading is the most active and the spread is the lowest, while the rare market is lack of liquidity and the spread is the highest.

Leveraged foreign exchange trading

In the foreign exchange market, if you buy a foreign exchange contract with a higher value than the actual account balance, it is leveraged foreign exchange trading. Leveraged foreign exchange trading requires a cash guarantee, that is, a margin.

The higher the leverage ratio, the less margin capital is required. By increasing the trading leverage, if the market trend of the currency pair is consistent with the position direction, then they will be able to make a larger profit with less principal through a very small fluctuation. However, if the market moves in the opposite direction, leveraged trading can also significantly increase investment risk.

In the Hong Kong market, the SFC allows leverage at 20:1, or at least 5 per cent of the opening value of the initial margin.

Operating time of foreign exchange market

Because of the time difference, the major foreign exchange markets around the world have become a huge market that operates round the clock and 24 hours a day. The foreign exchange market is closed only on Saturdays, Sundays and the annual Christmas and New Year's Day days. The following are the trading hours of some of the world's major foreign exchange exchanges.

https://courseimg.futunn.com/20220907000018536125ce77ee5.png

Disclaimer: The above content does not constitute any act of financial product marketing, investment offer, or financial advice. Before making any investment decision, investors should consider the risk factors related to investment products based on their own circumstances and consult professional investment advisors where necessary.

Recommended

什么是外汇交易?

2.4万人 学过2023/08/09
https://courseimg.futunn.com/202209070000185212aff84ee3d.png

核心要点

● 外汇交易,就是买卖外汇的行为。外汇市场是全球最大的金融市场。

● 外汇交易的货币对可分为直盘、交叉盘和稀有盘。直盘货币对的交易量占整个外汇市场交易量的85%。

● 杠杆式外汇交易在放大收益的同时,也增加了风险。

● 全球外汇市场除周六、周日、圣诞、元旦外,全天24小时都可以交易。

概念详解

外汇是指以外国货币表示的,用于国际间结算的支付手段和信用工具。而外汇交易,简而言之,就是买卖货币的行为。以一个国家或地区的货币兑换另一个国家或地区的货币,便产生了外汇交易。

国际外汇交易市场,是全球最大的金融市场,遍布于全球各地,主要可分为亚太地区、欧洲、北美洲等三大部分。其中最重要的有欧洲的伦敦、法兰克福、苏黎世和巴黎,北美洲的纽约和洛杉矶,亚太地区的悉尼、东京、新加坡和香港等。

外汇市场的参与者主要包括中央银行、商业银行、非银行金融机构、经纪公司、交易商及大型跨国企业等,每日平均成交额超过6万亿美元。对于香港的投资者来说,可以通过券商等机构来参与外汇交易。

外汇交易的货币对

外汇交易的第一步,是选择想要交易的货币,也就是货币对。因为外汇货币总是成对出现的,比如英镑兑美元、欧元兑美元。货币对前面的货币被称为“基础货币”,后面的货币被称为“相对”或“报价”货币。

外汇交易就是在推测基础货币相对后面的报价货币而言,未来会上涨还是下跌。例如,如果你预期欧元相对于美元会升值,那么你会买入欧元/美元,表示你买入了欧元(同时卖出美元)。如果你认为欧元会贬值,则会卖出欧元 (同时买入美元)。

各种货币两两组合构成很多个货币对,这些货币对可以分成3种类型。

第一种类型是包含有美元的国际通用货币对,被称为主要货币,也叫“直盘”,包括欧元/美元,英镑/美元,美元/加元,美元/日元等等,直盘货币对的交易量占整个外汇市场交易量的85%。

第二种类型是不包含美元的国际通用货币对,被称为“交叉盘”,例如英镑/日元、日元/加元等。

第三种类型是由一种主要货币和一种新兴经济体的货币组成的货币对,叫“稀有盘”,如美元/南非兰特。

外汇交易的买入价和卖出价之间会有一个差价,这个差价叫作点差。以欧元兑美元为例,假如卖出价是1.00596而买入价是1.00604,当中的差距 (1.00604-1.00596 = 0.00008)就是0.8点子的点差。

对投资者来说,点差是最基本的外汇交易的成本。一般来说,直盘的交易最为活跃,点差也最低,稀有盘流动性较为匮乏,点差最高。

杠杆式外汇交易

在外汇市场,如果购买比实际帐户结余价值更高的外汇合约,就是杠杆式外汇交易。杠杆式外汇交易需要作出现金担保,也就是需要缴纳保证金。

杠杆比率越高,所需的保证金资本越少。投资者通过增加交易杠杆,如果货币对的市场走势与持仓方向保持一致,那么就能够以小博大,通过非常小的波动,以较少的本金赚取较大的利润。不过,如果市场走势与持仓方向相反,那么杠杆交易也会大幅增加投资风险。

在香港市场,证监会准许的杠杆上限为20:1,也就是初始保证金金额至少要达到开仓价值的5%。

外汇市场运作时间

全球各大外汇市场因时间差的关系,成为昼夜不停、全天24小时连续运作的巨大市场。只有星期六、星期日以及每年的圣诞和元旦当天,外汇市场才会关闭。以下是全球部分主要外汇交易所的交易时间。

https://courseimg.futunn.com/20220907000018536125ce77ee5.png

风险及免责提示:以上内容不构成任何金融营销或投资邀约,亦不构成任何投资建议,在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据自身情况考虑投资产品相关的风险因素,并于需要时咨询专业投资顾问意见。

相关推荐